Qualité de l’air à San Diego

Indice de qualité de l’air (IQA) et pollution de l’air (PM2.5) à San Diego

Dernière mise à jour à (Heure locale)

123.5K personnes suivent cette ville

  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
Carte IQAir avec points colorées AQI

Contributeur(s) de données sur la qualité de l'air

Station(s) exploitée par

Contributeurs

69

Logo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisual

Rejoignez le mouvement !

Particper au partage d'information de qualite d'air dans le monde, installez un moniteur dans votre ville.

Devenez un contributeur
Renseignes toi plus sur les sources des contributeurs et des données

Temps

Quel temps fait-il actuellement à San Diego?

Icône météo
TempsBrouillard
Température53.6°F
Humidité92%
Vent3.4 mp/h
Pression30.1 Hg

Classement IQA des villes en direct

Classement en direct des principales villes aux États-Unis

#cityIQA US
1 Prairie Ridge, Washington

182

2 Baldwin Park, Californie

168

3 Joseph, Oregon

165

4 Freeland, Washington

162

5 Heber, Californie

158

6 Calexico, Californie

146

7 Irrigon, Oregon

146

8 Sunrise Manor, Nevada

146

9 Hanford, Californie

143

10 Sunnyslope, Californie

133

(Heure locale)

CLASSEMENT MONDIAL DE l’IQA

Classement IQA en direct à San Diego

Classement de la qualité de l’air en direct à San Diego

#stationIQA US
1 Otay Mesa-Donovan

143

2 Casa Nova Court

111

3 Sherman Elementary School

104

4 4655 Coronado Avenue

87

5 Snapdragon Stadium - SDSU Aztecs

85

6 STRANDWAY / ASBURY

84

7 West Canyon Avenue

80

8 Circa 37 Apartments

79

9 Long Branch Avenue

78

10 Carolina Lane

76

(Heure locale)

CLASSEMENT MONDIAL DE l’IQA

San Diego webcam

10:54, déc. 4

L’air est-il pollué à San Diego?

Vignette de San Diego webcam à 10:54, déc. 4

IQA US

56

IQA en direct
Moyen

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI

Vue d’ensemble

Quelle est la qualité de l’air actuellement à San Diego?

Niveau de pollution de l’airIndice de pollution de l’airPrincipaux polluants
Moyen 56 IQA UStrendPM2.5
PolluantsConcentration
PM2.5
14.7µg/m³trend
!

PM2.5

x2.9

La concentration de PM2,5 à San Diego est actuellement 2.9 fois supérieure à la valeur guide annuelle de l'OMS pour la qualité de l'air

Recommandations de santé

Comment se protéger de la pollution de l’air à San Diego?

Une icône de fenêtre ouverteFermez vos fenêtres pour empêcher à l'air pollué de rentrer.
Une icône d'une personne qui fait du véloLes groupes sensibles doivent éviter les activités de plein air.

Prévision

Prévision de l’indice de qualité de l’air (IQA) à San Diego

JourNiveau de pollutionTempsTempératureVent
mercredi, nov. 30

Bon 21 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo57.2°55.4°
Vent tournant à 243 degré

6.7 mp/h

jeudi, déc. 1

Bon 21 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo64.4°55.4°
Vent tournant à 336 degré

6.7 mp/h

vendredi, déc. 2

Bon 24 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo66.2°59°
Vent tournant à 286 degré

4.5 mp/h

samedi, déc. 3

Moyen 60 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo64.4°53.6°
Vent tournant à 304 degré

6.7 mp/h

Aujourd’hui

Moyen 56 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo62.6°57.2°
Vent tournant à 295 degré

11.2 mp/h

lundi, déc. 5

Bon 7 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo59°55.4°
Vent tournant à 268 degré

8.9 mp/h

mardi, déc. 6

Bon 5 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo57.2°53.6°
Vent tournant à 287 degré

4.5 mp/h

mercredi, déc. 7

Bon 11 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo59°51.8°
Vent tournant à 313 degré

8.9 mp/h

jeudi, déc. 8

Bon 15 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo59°53.6°
Vent tournant à 318 degré

6.7 mp/h

vendredi, déc. 9

Bon 6 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo62.6°53.6°
Vent tournant à 305 degré

6.7 mp/h

Intéressé par des prévisions horaires? Télécharger l’application

Historique

Graphique de l’historique de la qualité de l’air à San Diego

Comment se protéger au mieux de la pollution de l’air?

Réduire votre exposition à la pollution de l’air à San Diego

ANALYSES ET STATISTIQUES DE LA QUALITé DE L’AIR POUR San Diego

*Traduit à l'aide de la traduction automatique

Quelle est la qualité de l'air à San Diego?

La qualité de l'air à San Diego souffre de périodes fréquentes et prolongées de pollution malsaine par l'ozone.


L'ozone est un gaz polluant corrosif composé de trois atomes d'oxygène. En raison de la nature hautement réactive de l'ozone, une exposition prolongée peut endommager les tissus pulmonaires, entraînant un vieillissement précoce des poumons et une aggravation de la maladie pulmonaire chronique.1 Les effets à court terme peuvent déclencher des crises d'asthme, de la toux et difficulté à respirer. Ces effets sont plus aigus dans les groupes sensibles, notamment les enfants, les personnes âgées et les personnes souffrant de maladies cardiaques et pulmonaires préexistantes.


En moyenne, San Diego connaît 43,3 jours d'ozone insalubre par an, dépassant de loin l'objectif fédéral de 3,2 jours.2 Son état de non-atteinte grave a abouti à une note «F» par l'American Lung Association (ALA). Il y a une tendance inquiétante à l'aggravation de l'ozone à San Diego. Depuis 2015, le nombre de jours d'ozone insalubres a augmenté de 42%.


Les particules fines, ou PM2,5, sont un autre facteur clé de la pollution atmosphérique de San Diego, affectant la santé des résidents. PM2,5 est un terme désignant un mélange en suspension de minuscules particules, comprenant un large éventail de compositions chimiques et de sources. Différents matériaux comprennent les métaux, la suie, la terre, la poussière et le sel. La respiration de PM2,5 a été directement liée à des effets néfastes sur la santé, tels que les maladies cardiaques et pulmonaires, le cancer et la mortalité prématurée.


L'ALA a attribué à San Diego la note «C» pour la pollution par les particules pendant 24 heures. La note à peine satisfaisante est le résultat de la moyenne annuelle de 2 jours de PM2,5 malsains de la ville. Bien que la ville atteigne les niveaux annuels de PM2,5 sur une période d'un an, elle ne l'a pas fait au cours des deux années précédentes en 2017 et 2018. Depuis 2018, les niveaux de pollution PM2,5 à San Diego se sont améliorés de 32 pour cent. Cette amélioration, cependant, n'est peut-être pas le signe d'une tendance d'une année à l'autre, mais plutôt de conditions météorologiques et environnementales plus idéales.


Pour obtenir les données les plus récentes sur la qualité de l'air à San Diego, consultez les informations affichées en haut de cette page. L'utilisation des données prévisionnelles sur la qualité de l'air de San Diego est un bon outil pour planifier à l'avance afin de réduire l'exposition à la pollution.

Pourquoi la qualité de l'air est-elle mauvaise à San Diego aujourd'hui?

Malgré les émissions quotidiennes relativement similaires des véhicules, des bâtiments et de l'industrie à San Diego, les niveaux de pollution varient. La raison de la mauvaise qualité de l'air dans une zone donnée a souvent plus à voir avec le climat, la géographie et les conditions météorologiques que les pics locaux d'émissions.


San Diego fait partie du San Diego Air Basin (SDAB), une zone climatique subtropicale caractérisée par des étés chauds et secs et des hivers doux et humides.3 Vents légers et air stagnant, combinés à peu de précipitations et plus de 170 jours à plus de 70 degrés, se combinent pour créer des conditions idéales pour la création et l'accumulation de pollution par l'ozone.


L’emplacement de San Diego sur la côte cède la place à des événements météorologiques polluants appelés inversions marines. Les inversions marines décrivent une inversion des modèles de température normaux dans laquelle l'air plus froid au niveau du sol près de l'océan est piégé par un air plus chaud et plus dense au-dessus. Le résultat est le piégeage et l'accumulation d'émissions au niveau du sol jusqu'au retour des conditions de température normales. À San Diego, les inversions de température sont le résultat de la géographie de la ville près de l'océan Pacifique. L'océan refroidit l'air dans la basse atmosphère, qui est alors piégé par l'air intérieur plus chaud. Des vents légers soufflant de l'ouest peuvent encore aggraver cette situation, en poussant les polluants atmosphériques et l'air froid au niveau de la surface vers l'intérieur des terres, vers les contreforts, renforçant ainsi l'effet de l'inversion marine.


Les vents venant du bassin aérien de la côte sud et de Los Angele peuvent également jouer un rôle dans l'augmentation significative des niveaux de pollution atmosphérique à San Diego. L'ozone de Los Angeles est le pire du pays. Des études nationales identifient la pollution atmosphérique transportée comme un défi supplémentaire pour San Diego pour atteindre les niveaux fédéraux de concentration d'ozone.


Les variations locales de l'IQA de San Diego peuvent être attribuables à un certain nombre de raisons. Utilisez la carte de la pollution atmosphérique de San Diego pour comprendre d'où proviennent les émissions et quels événements météorologiques peuvent contribuer ou atténuer la pollution atmosphérique.

Y a-t-il du smog à San Diego?

Le smog de San Diego, ou pollution atmosphérique visible, est parmi les pires du pays. Le smog est composé d'une combinaison de polluants atmosphériques, principalement la pollution par l'ozone et les particules. Pour les deux mesures relatives aux polluants, San Diego se classe mal.


Pour la 5e année consécutive, San Diego est classée 6e au niveau national pour la pire pollution par l'ozone sur 229 zones métropolitaines incluses. Les cinq zones régionales qui se classent plus haut que San Diego sont situées en Californie. Los Angeles, située à 120 miles au nord-ouest, occupe la première place pour le pire ozone chaque année mais une en 20 ans. En 2019, la qualité de l'air de San Diego s'est mieux comportée que la qualité de l'air de Visalia, Qualité de l'air de Bakersfield, le l'air de la région de Fresno-Madera-Hanford qualité, qualité de l'air de Sacramento et Qualité de l'air de Roseville.


La majorité (42%) des polluants qui contribuent à la formation d'ozone dans le comté de San Diego proviennent des émissions d'échappement des véhicules à moteur. La population et les émissions de la ville sont principalement concentrées dans la partie ouest du comté, en particulier dans les zones intérieures près des montagnes de Cuyamaca. Selon une étude d'État, Alpine, Borrego Springs et Warner Springs présentent les niveaux de pollution par l'ozone les plus élevés du comté de San Diego.4


Les particules polluantes, telles que les PM2,5, ont été décrites comme des «particules réduisant la visibilité» en raison de leur contribution au smog régional. En 2019, les PM2,5 à San Diego variaient de concentrations allant d'un minimum de 6 μg/m3, «bon», en mars, à un maximum de 15,9 μg/m3, «Modéré», en novembre.


Les mois d'août à janvier ont traditionnellement été les plus pollués à San Diego pour la pollution par les PM2,5. Alors que les mois d'été de mars à septembre sont les plus pollués pour l'ozone. Lorsque ces pics se chevauchent, un smog intense est courant.


Selon l'American Lung Association, les jours de smog à San Diego ont augmenté de 42% au cours des cinq dernières années.5 Le réchauffement des températures dû au changement climatique serait l'un des facteurs à l'origine de cette situation. augmenter, et présente un défi pour lutter contre l'ozone à l'avenir.

À quel point San Diego est-il pollué?

En 2019, San Diego affichait en moyenne un indice de qualité de l'air de 39 («bon»). Il s'agissait d'une légère amélioration de la qualité globale de l'air par rapport aux années précédentes. Les deux 2018 et 2019 ont connu un AQI moyen de 52, «modéré», dépassant tout juste les lignes directrices fédérales.


L'IQA, ou indice de la qualité de l'air, traduit les concentrations de polluants parfois non intuitives en une seule échelle facile à comprendre afin de transmettre le risque pour la santé associé à un environnement comportant de multiples menaces aéroportées. L'indice tient compte de six polluants critères mesurés par l'Agence de protection de l'environnement (EPA), notamment les PM2,5, les PM10, le monoxyde de carbone (CO), le dioxyde de soufre (SO2), le dioxyde d'azote (NO2) et l'ozone troposphérique (O3).


L'IQA annuelle de San Diego indique qu'en moyenne, les polluants se situent dans des fourchettes saines. Les moyennes annuelles rapides, cependant, ont tendance à se lisser au cours des périodes d'événements de pollution malsains, qui sont considérablement courants à San Diego.


En moyenne, San Diego subit 43,3 jours d'ozone malsain et 2 jours de PM2,5 malsain par an. Les niveaux d’ozone de la ville représentent plus de 13 fois l’objectif national, ce qui ne conseille pas plus de 3,2 jours insalubres. Par cet examen, San Diego a encore un très long chemin pour réduire la pollution de l'air et sa menace sur les résidents.


À l’heure actuelle, des niveaux élevés d’ozone persistants en été peuvent contribuer aux taux d’asthme extrêmement élevés du comté. Les taux d'asthme dans le Barrio Logan, juste au sud du centre-ville, sont parmi les plus élevés de Californie. Un rapport de 2014 réalisé par l'Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA) de la Californie a révélé que les visites à l'hôpital liées à l'asthme dans cette région se situent dans le 10e percentile le plus élevé de l'État.


La lutte contre les niveaux d'ozone en faisant passer plus de résidents à des véhicules économes en carburant et à faibles émissions ainsi qu'en augmentant la disponibilité et l'attrait des transports en commun offrent des opportunités pour gérer la plus grande source d'ozone de San Diego et améliorer la santé des San Diegans .


+ Ressources de l'article

[1] San Diego County Air Pollution Control District. (2016). 2008 eight-hour ozone attainment plan for San Diego County.
[2] American Lung Association. (2020). State of the air – 2020.
[3] HELIX Environmental Planning. (2016). San Ysidro community plan update and San Ysidro historic village specific plan.
[4] Schroeder J. (2018, January 30). Interactive map shows which San Diego areas have the worst air quality.
[5] Anderson E. (2019, April 24). San Diego smog among the nation’s worst.
[6] Bailey T. (2015, May 27). Air pollutants contribute to Barrio Logan asthma rates.

Cart
Your cart is empty

Se connecter avec IQAir

S’inscrire à notre lettre d’information

Air quality in San Diego

Air quality index (AQI) and PM2.5 air pollution in San Diego

LAST UPDATE (local time)

91.9K people follow this city

  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
IQAir map with AQI colorful pins

Air Quality contributors Sources

Data provided by

Contributors

5

Data sources

5

The profile logo of San Diego County Air Pollution Control District (SDAPCD)The profile logo of AirVisualThe profile logo of California Air Resources Board (CARB)The profile logo of Environmental Protection AgencyThe profile logo of 21 Anonymous contributorThe profile logo of PurpleAir

Get your own monitor to measure air quality by yourself and join the movement.

Become a contributor
Find out more about contributors and data sources

Weather

What is the current weather in San Diego?

Weather icon
WeatherClear sky
Temperature66.2°C
Humidity14%
Wind6.9 mp/h
Pressure1021 mb

live aqi city ranking

Real-time USA city ranking

#cityUS AQI
1 Wrightwood, California

1354

2 Chewelah, Washington

127

3 Appleton, Wisconsin

125

4 Hortonville, Wisconsin

125

5 Seeley Lake, Montana

113

6 Northlake, South Carolina

99

7 Rice Lake, Wisconsin

95

8 Lowell, North Carolina

91

9 Weaverville, California

91

10 Frisco, Texas

90

(local time)

SEE WORLD AQI RANKING

live San Diego aqi ranking

Real-time San Diego air quality ranking

#stationUS AQI
1 NPS Cabrillo Nat'l Monument (Bayside)

38

2 FunHaus Middletown

37

3 San Diego - Sherman Elementary School

23

4 La Jolla Shores 2

19

5 Otay Mesa-Donovan

19

6 Downtown SE

15

7 New Hampshire Street

13

8 La Jolla 2

11

9 Kerwood Court

10

10 La Jolla

9

(local time)

SEE WORLD AQI RANKING

San Diego webcam

5:54, Feb 28

Is there air pollution in San Diego?

Thumbnail of San Diego webcam at 5:54, Feb 28

US AQI

7

live AQI index
Good

Human face indicating AQI level

Overview

What is the current air quality in San Diego?

Air pollution levelAir quality indexMain pollutant
Good 7 US AQItrendPM2.5
PollutantsConcentration
PM2.5
1.6 µg/m³trend

Health Recommendations

How to protect from air pollution in San Diego?

An open window iconOpen your windows to bring clean, fresh air indoors
A man cycling iconEnjoy outdoor activities

Forecast

San Diego air quality index (AQI) forecast

DayPollution levelWeatherTemperatureWind
Wednesday, Feb 24

Moderate 52 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Thursday, Feb 25

Good 23 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Friday, Feb 26

Moderate 59 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Saturday, Feb 27

Moderate 54 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon66.2°57.2°
Wind rotating 97 degree

0 mp/h

Today

Good 38 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon69.8°55.4°
Wind rotating 357 degree

2.2 mp/h

Monday, Mar 1

Good 46 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon69.8°57.2°
Wind rotating 288 degree

4.5 mp/h

Tuesday, Mar 2

Good 33 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon68°55.4°
Wind rotating 189 degree

11.2 mp/h

Wednesday, Mar 3

Good 35 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon62.6°57.2°
Wind rotating 262 degree

6.7 mp/h

Thursday, Mar 4

Good 33 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon68°57.2°
Wind rotating 297 degree

8.9 mp/h

Friday, Mar 5

Good 24 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon62.6°57.2°
Wind rotating 272 degree

4.5 mp/h

Interested in hourly forecast? Get the app

Historical

Historic air quality graph for San Diego

How to best protect from air pollution?

Reduce your air pollution exposure in San Diego

AIR QUALITY ANALYSIS AND STATISTICS FOR San Diego

How is the air quality in San Diego?

San Diego air quality suffers from frequent and prolonged periods of unhealthy ozone pollution.


Ozone is a corrosive gas pollutant composed of three oxygen atoms. Due to ozone’s highly reactive nature, prolonged exposure can cause damage to the lung tissue, leading to the early aging of the lungs and the worsening of chronic lung disease.1 Short term effects can trigger asthma attacks, coughing and difficulty breathing. These effects are more acute in sensitive groups including children, the elderly, and individuals with preexisting heart and lung conditions.


On average, San Diego experiences 43.3 days of unhealthy ozone annually, far exceeding the 3.2-day federal target.2 Its severe nonattainment status has resulted in an “F” rating by the American Lung Association (ALA). There is a concerning trend of worsening ozone in San Diego. Since 2015, the number of unhealthy ozone days has risen by 42 percent.


Fine particulate matter, or PM2.5, is another key contributor to San Diego’s air pollution mix, adversely affecting resident health. PM2.5 is a term for a suspended mixture of tiny particles, including a wide range of chemical compositions and sources. Different materials include metals, soot, soil, dust, and salt. Breathing PM2.5 has been directly linked to adverse health effects, such as heart and lung diseases, cancer, and premature mortality.


The ALA has rated San Diego a “C” for 24-hr particle pollution. The barely passing grade is a result of the City’s average 2 annual unhealthy PM2.5 days. While the city does meet annual attainment levels for PM2.5 over the span of a year, it had failed to do so in the previous two years in 2017 and 2018. Since 2018, PM2.5 pollution levels in San Diego have improved by 32 percent. This improvement, however, may not be indicative of a year-over-year trend, but rather more ideal weather and environment conditions.


For the most up-to-date air quality data in San Diego, consult the information displayed at the top of this page. Using San Diego forecast air quality data is a good tool for planning ahead to reduce pollution exposure.

Why is air quality bad in San Diego today?

Despite relatively similar day-to-day emissions from vehicles, buildings, and industry across San Diego, pollution levels vary. The reason for bad air quality in a given area often has more to do with climate, geography, and weather patterns than local spikes in emissions.


San Diego is part of the San Diego Air Basin (SDAB), a subtropical climate zone characterized by hot, dry summers, and mild, wet winters.3 Light winds and stagnant air, combined with little precipitation and more than 170 days over 70 degrees, combine to create ideal conditions for the creation and accumulation of ozone pollution.


San Diego’s location on the coast gives way to pollution-accumulating weather events known as marine inversions. Marine inversions describe a reversal of normal temperature patterns in which cooler ground level air near the ocean becomes trapped by warmer, denser air above. The result is the trapping and accumulation of ground-level emissions until normal temperature conditions return. In San Diego, temperature inversions are a result of the city’s geography near the Pacific Ocean. The ocean cools the air in the lower atmosphere, which then gets trapped by warmer inland air. Light winds blowing in from the west can further aggravate this condition, by driving air pollutants and the cold surface level air inland, toward the foothills, furthering the effect of the marine inversion.


Winds flowing down from the South Coast air basin and Los Angeles can also play a role in significantly elevating San Diego air pollution levels. Los Angeles ozone is the worst in the nation. State studies identify transported air pollution as an additional challenge for San Diego in meeting federal ozone attainment levels.


Local variances in San Diego’s AQI may be attributable to a number of reasons. Use the San Diego air pollution map to understand where emissions are flowing in from and what weather events may be contributing or alleviating air pollution.

Is there smog in San Diego?

San Diego smog, or visible air pollution, is among the nation’s worst. Smog is composed of a combination of air pollutants, primarily ozone and particle pollution. For both pollutant measures, San Diego ranks poorly.


For the 5th year in a row, San Diego is rated 6th nationally for worst ozone pollution out of 229 included metropolitan areas. All five regional areas which rank higher than San Diego are located in California. Los Angeles, located 120 miles to the northwest, has held the number one position for worst ozone every year but one in 20 years. In 2019, San Diego air quality fared better than Visalia air quality, Bakersfield air quality, the Fresno-Madera-Hanford area air quality, Sacramento air quality, and Roseville air quality.


The majority (42 percent) of the pollutants that contribute to ozone formation in San Diego County come from tailpipe emissions from motor vehicles. The city’s population and emissions are primarily concentrated in the western part of the County, particularly in the inland areas near the Cuyamaca Mountains. According to a state study, Alpine, Borrego Springs, and Warner Springs have the highest levels of ozone pollution in San Diego County.4


Particle pollutants, such as PM2.5, have been described as ‘visibility reducing particles’ for their contribution to regional smog. In 2019, San Diego PM2.5 varied from concentrations from a low of 6 μg/m3, “good,” in March, to a high of 15.9 μg/m3, “moderate,” in November.


The months of August through January have traditionally been the most polluted in San Diego for PM2.5 pollution. Whilst the summer months of March through September are the most polluted for ozone. When these peaks overlap, heavy smog is common.


According to the American Lung Association, San Diego’s smoggy days are up 42 percent over the last five years.5 Warming temperatures as a result of climate change are thought to be one of the drivers for this increase, and presents a challenge for tackling ozone in the future.

How polluted is San Diego?

In 2019, San Diego averaged an air quality index of 39 (“good”). This was a slight improvement in overall air quality compared to years prior. Both 2018 and 2019 experienced an average AQI of 52, “moderate,” just exceeding federal guidelines.


The AQI, or Air Quality Index, translates sometimes unintuitive pollutant concentrations into one easy-to-understand scale in order to convey associated health risk of an environment with multiple airborne threats. The index accounts for six criteria pollutants measured by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), including PM2.5, PM10, carbon monoxide (CO), sulfur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), and ground level ozone (O3).


San Diego annual AQI indicates that, on average, pollutants are within healthy ranges. Sweeping annual averages, however, tend to smooth over periods of unhealthy pollution events, which are considerably common in San Diego.


On average, San Diego experiences 43.3 days of unhealthy ozone and 2 days of unhealthy PM2.5 annually. The city’s ozone levels represent numbers more than 13 times the national target, advising no more than 3.2 unhealthy days. By this examination, San Diego still has a very long way to reduce air pollution and its threat on residents.


Currently, persistent high ozone levels in the summer may be contributing to the County’s exceedingly high asthma rates. Asthma rates in Barrio Logan, just south of the downtown area, are among the highest in California.6 A 2014 report conducted by the California’s Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA) found that asthma-related hospital visits in this area are in the highest 10th percentile in the state.


Tackling ozone levels by transitioning more residents to fuel-efficient, lower-emission vehicles as well as increasing the availability and attractiveness of public transportation present opportunities for managing the largest contributing source to San Diego ozone, and improving the health of San Diegans.


+ Article Resources

[1] San Diego County Air Pollution Control District. (2016). 2008 eight-hour ozone attainment plan for San Diego County.
[2] American Lung Association. (2020). State of the air – 2020.
[3] HELIX Environmental Planning. (2016). San Ysidro community plan update and San Ysidro historic village specific plan.
[4] Schroeder J. (2018, January 30). Interactive map shows which San Diego areas have the worst air quality.
[5] Anderson E. (2019, April 24). San Diego smog among the nation’s worst.
[6] Bailey T. (2015, May 27). Air pollutants contribute to Barrio Logan asthma rates.

Connect With IQAir

Sign up for our newsletter