Luftqualität in Ontario

Luftqualitätsindex (AQI) und PM2,5-Luftverschmutzung in Ontario

Letzte Aktualisierung um (Ortszeit)

LIVE-AQI-STÄDTERANGLISTE

Echtzeit-Rangliste der am stärksten belasteten Städte in Ontario

#cityUS-AQI
1Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Niagara on the Lake

69

2Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Fort Erie

68

3Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Vaughan

68

4Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Kitchener

58

5Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Guelph

57

6Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Markham

55

7Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Niagara Falls

55

8Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Toronto

54

9Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Brampton

53

10Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Ajax

51

(Ortszeit)

WELT-AQI-RANGLISTE ANZEIGEN

BEITRAGENDE FÜR LUFTQUALITÄTSDATEN

157 Stationen betrieben von

101 Mitwirkende

https://cdn.airvisual.net/gov/tiny/airqualityontario.pnghttps://cdn.airvisual.net/assets/public-profiles/5f97d88383b2d01b93e7660f-avatar.bmphttps://cdn.airvisual.net/assets/public-profiles/60753b101ac44900078389f1-avatar.bmphttps://ui-avatars.com/api/?rounded=true&name=Township%20of%20Sioux%20Narrows%20-%20Nestor%20Fallshttps://cdn.airvisual.net/tiny/a4f9988c-9ef7-41af-b62c-39a52d784834.jpghttps://cdn.airvisual.net/tiny/dd9110b7-b2b8-4eb2-a5d7-2c3865022741.jpg

Machen Sie bei der Bewegung mit!

Holen Sie sich ein Messgerät und tragen Sie Luftqualitätsdaten aus Ihrer Stadt bei.

MITWIRKENDER WERDEN
Mehr über Beitragende und Datenquellen

LIVE-AQI-STÄDTERANGLISTE

Echtzeit-Rangliste der am wenigsten belasteten Städte in Ontario

#cityUS-AQI
1Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Kirkland Lake

4

2Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Almonte

10

3Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Renfrew

12

4Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Ottawa

13

5Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Brockville

16

6Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Coldwater

16

7Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Dorset

16

8Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Peterborough

18

9Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Kingston

19

10Die Nationalflagge von Liechtenstein Thunder Bay

20

(Ortszeit)

WELT-AQI-RANGLISTE ANZEIGEN

Top-Luftqualitäts-App

Kostenlose Luftqualität-App für iOS und Android

AirVisual App, Free iOS and Android air quality app
Gut
Moderat
Ungesund für empfindliche Gruppen
Ungesund
Äußerst ungesund
Gefährlich
Rechteckfor, anklicken zum Öffnen der Karte im Vollbildmodus
Pluszeichen, anklicken zum Vergrößern der Karte
Minuszeichen, anklicken zum Verkleinern der Karte

LUFTQUALITÄTSANALYSE UND -STATISTIK FÜR Ontario

*Übersetzt mit maschineller Übersetzung

Wie ist die Luftqualität in Ontario?

Die Luftverschmutzung in Ontario gilt als gering und trägt zu einem allgemein „gesunden“ Luftqualitätsstatus bei. Im Jahr 2016 erfüllten 93 Prozent der Städte in der Provinz Kanadas „sehr gute“ oder „gute“ Luftqualitätsstandards, die zu den strengsten der Welt gehören.1


Luftverschmutzung wird oft als „Smog“ bezeichnet, eine Kombination von Schadstoffen in der Luft, einschließlich bodennahem Ozon und PM2,5. Die Smog-Saison in Ontario erstreckt sich über die Monate Mai bis September, in denen die PM2,5- und Ozonwerte normalerweise am höchsten sind. Der Sommersmog der Region ist auf Wetterbedingungen zurückzuführen, z. B. auf Hochdruckzellen, die Schadstoffe aus industriellen und urbanisierten US-Städten über die Grenze zwischen den USA und Kanada ziehen und die Luftverschmutzung in der unteren Region der Großen Seen in Ontario erhöhen.


Ozonverschmutzung ist insofern einzigartig, als sie nicht direkt aus Bodenquellen emittiert wird, sondern in der Atmosphäre entsteht, wenn Stickstoffdioxid (NO2) und flüchtige organische Verbindungen (VOC) in Gegenwart von Sonnenlicht reagieren . Aus diesem Grund hängen die Ozonkonzentrationen stark von den Wetter- und Klimabedingungen ab, die von Jahr zu Jahr variieren. 2016 war ein überdurchschnittlich wärmeres Jahr mit längeren Bedingungen für die Smogbildung. Im Sommer 2016 erlebte Ontario 25 Tage lang Temperaturen über 30°C, die die Ozonentwicklung förderten, während 19 Luftüberwachungsstellen in der gesamten Provinz Ozonwerte über dem Schwellenwert verzeichneten.


Ontarios Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung der Emissionen von Ozonvorläufer-Schadstoffen haben von 2007 bis 2016 zu einem 30-prozentigen Rückgang von NO2 geführt. Trotz dieser Reduzierung hat das gemessene Ozon in derselben Zeit um 1 Prozent zugenommen Rahmen. Ozonüberschreitungen in Ontario werden am häufigsten im südwestlichen Teil der Provinz am Ufer des Huronsees und des Eriesees nahe der US-Grenze gemeldet, wo grenzüberschreitende Verschmutzung einen größeren Einfluss auf die gemessene Luftqualität hat. Wissenschaftler führen den Anstieg des Ozonspiegels auf die Erwärmungstemperaturen infolge des Klimawandels zurück, kombiniert mit Schadstoffen aus der Umgebung, die aus Industriestädten in der Nähe übertragen wurden


Feinstaub oder PM2.5 ist ein weiterer kritischer Bestandteil von Smog. PM2.5 ist häufiger als Ozon in Mengen vorhanden, die die „guten“ Standards Kanadas übertreffen. Die PM2.5-Verschmutzung in Ontario entsteht hauptsächlich durch Holzverbrennung in Wohngebieten im Winter, Waldbrände im Spätsommer und Frühherbst sowie durch Industrie- und Transportemissionen.


Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation empfiehlt, dass die jährlichen PM2,5-Konzentrationen einen Durchschnitt von 10 μg/m3 nicht überschreiten. In Ontario erfüllten 97 Prozent der Städte 2019 diesen Standard - nur Hamilton übertraf ihn. Nach dem strengeren kanadischen Standard für jährliches PM2,5, der auf 8 μg/m3 festgelegt ist, konnten 3 überwachte Städte jedoch nicht erreicht werden: Hamilton-Luftqualität (10,1 μg/m3), Bainsville-Luftqualität (8,2 μg/m3) und Windsor-Luftqualität (8,2 μg/m3).


Während diese drei Städte in Ontario am stärksten verschmutzt sind, rangierten sie auch im Land hoch und landeten landesweit als 11., 21. und 38. am stärksten verschmutzte Städte.


Zwischen 2007 und 2016 sind die PM2,5-Konzentrationen in Ontario um 12 Prozent gesunken. Die Kürzungen sind auf strengere Vorschriften für Industrie und Fahrzeuge sowie auf den Ausstieg aus Kohlekraftwerken zurückzuführen. Trotz dieser Verbesserungen der Luftqualität wird erwartet, dass Waldbrände häufiger und schwerer werden und in Zukunft die PM2,5-Konzentrationen in Ontario als führende natürliche Quelle gefährden können.2

Wo ist die beste Luftqualität in Ontario?

Ontario ist Kanadas bevölkerungsreichste Provinz mit fast 40 Prozent der Bevölkerung des Landes. Es ist auch sehr groß - mit 1,076 Millionen km² ist es nach Quebec die zweitgrößte Provinz (mehr) als 1,5-mal so groß wie Texas in den USA). Angesichts der Größe der Provinz und der zahlreichen Drehkreuze in den Metropolen ist die Luftqualität in Ontario sehr unterschiedlich.


Ontarios größte und am stärksten verschmutzte Städte befinden sich größtenteils im südlichsten Teil der Provinz nahe der Grenze zu den Vereinigten Staaten. Viele US-Grenzstädte weisen eine Luftqualität auf, die den kanadischen Standard für die jährliche PM2,5-Exposition mit 8 μg/m3 übertrifft. Zu diesen Städten gehören Luftqualität in Cleveland (13,3 μg/m3) Luftqualität in Chicago (12,8 μg/m3), Detroit Luftqualität (9,9 μg/m3), Luftqualität in Minneapolis (8,8 μg/m3) und Luftqualität in Milwaukee (8,5 μg/m3).


Von den größten Städten Ontarios übertrifft nur Hamilton den kanadischen PM2.5-Standard (mit einer durchschnittlichen jährlichen Konzentration von 10,1 μg/m3). Nach abnehmender Bevölkerungszahl geordnet, umfassen andere kanadische Großstädte, die den Standard erfüllen, Toronto (7,4 μg/m3), Ottowa-Gatineau (7,8 μg / m3), Kitchener (6,8 μg/m3), London (6,4 μg/m3) und Oshawa (6,2 μg/m3).


Ontarios beste Luftqualität ist tendenziell weiter von der Grenze und anderen Großstädten entfernt. Zu den fünf saubersten Städten in Ontario gehörte 2019 der Chalk River, Parry Sound, Lake of Bays, North Bay und Sault Ste. Marie - alle gemittelten jährlichen PM2,5-Konzentrationen unter 5 μg/m3.

Was unternimmt Ontario, um die Luftverschmutzung zu reduzieren?

Ontario hat einen aggressiven Ansatz zur Bekämpfung der Luftverschmutzung gewählt, der heute zu sauberer Luft geführt hat als jemals zuvor in der jüngeren Geschichte.


Von 2007 bis 2016 sind die Luftverschmutzungskonzentrationen der wichtigsten Schadstoffkriterien erheblich zurückgegangen, darunter:


  • 53 Prozent weniger Kohlenmonoxid (CO)
  • 51 Prozent weniger Schwefeldioxid (SO2)
  • 30 Prozent weniger Stickstoffdioxid (NO2), ein wichtiger Schadstoff der Ozonvorstufe
  • 12 Prozent weniger Feinstaub (PM2,5)

Diese Ergebnisse stammen aus einer Reihe von Luftqualitätsvorschriften in Ontario, darunter:


  • das Auslaufen von Kohlekraftwerken im Jahr 2005 (eine der größten Initiativen in Nordamerika zur Reduzierung von Treibhausgasen)
  • Erhöhung der Luftqualitätsstandards, Erhöhung der Abdeckung der Luftqualitätsüberwachung und Ausweitung der lokalen Luftqualitätsvorschriften
  • strengere Obergrenzen und Handelsbestimmungen für Stickoxide und Schwefeldioxidemissionen
  • neue Emissionskontrollen in Schmelzhütten
  • Anpassung und Förderung von Elektro- und emissionsarmen Fahrzeugen durch Subventionen, Käufer-Rabatte und mehr Ladestationen3

Was verursacht Luftverschmutzung in Ontario?

Feinstaub (PM2.5) und Ozon sind die beiden gefährlichsten Luftschadstoffe in Ontario, die in schädlichen Mengen vorhanden sind. Während beide Schadstoffe zu kurz- und langfristigen gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen beitragen, die von Atembeschwerden und Reizungen der Atemwege bis hin zu Lungenschäden und frühem Tod reichen, unterscheiden sie sich nach Quelle und Wirkung.


PM2.5 beschreibt eine Mischung mikroskopisch kleiner Partikel in der Luft, die von Staub, Asche und Pollen bis zu Dämpfen, Chemikalien und Aerosolen reicht. Es wird eher durch seine Größe als durch seine chemische Zusammensetzung definiert, da unterschiedliche gesundheitliche Auswirkungen mit Partikeln unterschiedlicher Größe korrelieren. Die PM2.5-Verschmutzung ist die kleinste Art von Partikeln, die üblicherweise von der kanadischen Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) gemessen wird. Es wird oft in Bezug auf Bedeutung und Gefahr für seine Fähigkeit gewichtet, die Lunge zu umgehen und vom Kreislaufsystem absorbiert zu werden, was weitreichende gesundheitliche Auswirkungen hat.


In Bezug auf anthropogene oder vom Menschen verursachte Quellen schätzt die Provinzregierung von Ontario Folgendes:


  • 56 Prozent von PM2.5 stammen aus Wohngebieten (einschließlich Aktivitäten wie Holzverbrennung im Winter und Grillen)
  • 21 Prozent stammen aus industriellen Quellen (8 Prozent davon aus Metallschmelzen und 4 Prozent aus der Zement- und Betonindustrie)
  • 5 Prozent stammen von Straßenfahrzeugen
  • 7 Prozent stammen aus anderen Transportmitteln
  • 11 Prozent stammen aus verschiedenen Aktivitäten wie Bauarbeiten und vom Wind geblasenem Staub

Von 2007 bis 2016 wurden die PM2,5-Emissionen in Ontario um 16 Prozent reduziert. Die größten Einsparungen wurden bei den Verkehrsemissionen erzielt, gefolgt von Industrieemissionen.


Bodennahes Ozon ist ein stark reizender, farbloser, geruchloser Gasschadstoff, der entsteht, wenn Stickstoffdioxid (NO2) und flüchtige organische Verbindungen (VOC) im Sonnenlicht reagieren. Die Ozonbildung hängt stark von bestimmten idealen Umgebungsbedingungen ab, einschließlich Temperaturen über 29 Grad und der Prävalenz von Vorläuferschadstoffen. Da für die Ozonbildung reichlich Sonnenschein und warme Temperaturen erforderlich sind, führt das wechselnde Wetter zu unterschiedlichen Ozonkonzentrationen. Ontarios höchste Ozonwerte treten normalerweise an warmen Tagen zwischen Mai und September auf, häufig von Mittag bis zum frühen Abend.


Vom Menschen bereitgestellte Quellen für Stickoxide in Ontario umfassen


  • 69 Prozent verkehrsbezogene Quellen (34 Prozent davon sind „Straßenfahrzeuge“)
  • 11 Prozent Wohnquellen
  • 17 Prozent industrielle Quellen
  • 3 Prozent Versorgungsquellen

Vom Menschen bereitgestellte Quellen für flüchtige organische Verbindungen in Ontario umfassen


  • 28 Prozent verkehrsbezogene Quellen (11 Prozent davon stammen aus Straßenfahrzeugen)
  • 26 Prozent allgemeiner Lösungsmittelverbrauch
  • 15 Prozent industrielle Quellen
  • 16 Prozent Wohnquellen
  • 9 Prozent Druck / Oberflächenbeschichtung
  • 6 Prozent verschiedene Quellen

Hat der Ausstieg aus der Kohle die Luftverschmutzung in Ontario verringert?

Im Jahr 2005 begann Ontario mit dem Ausstieg aus Kohlekraftwerken, um die Emissionen und gesundheitsschädlichen Auswirkungen von schmutziger Luft zu senken. In einem vorläufigen Bericht wurde geschätzt, dass diese Maßnahme aufgrund weniger smogbedingter Luftgifte zu jährlichen Einsparungen im Gesundheitswesen von 3 Milliarden US-Dollar führen würde.4 Nachfolgende Berichte und Daten nach dem Ausstieg zeigen Änderungen der Luftqualität in Ontario waren eher klein, und das Vorgängermodell überschätzte seine Auswirkungen auf die Einsparungen im Gesundheitswesen.


Eine vom Fraser Institute durchgeführte Studie ergab, dass durch die Beseitigung von Kohlekraftwerken die PM2,5-Werte in den städtischen Gebieten Ontarios um 1 bis 2 μg/m3 gesenkt wurden, was 6 bis 12 entspricht prozentuale Reduzierung von den höchsten Niveaus der Stadt. Weniger bedeutsam war die Verringerung des Ozonspiegels in Ontario, die offenbar durch einen Anstieg der Emissionen von Erdgasanlagen ausgeglichen wurde.


Während der Ausstieg aus der Kohle die Luftverschmutzung in Ontario verringerte, war die Reduzierung der Treibhausgase im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel möglicherweise bedeutender als die Reduzierung der Luftschadstoffe in Bezug auf gesundheitsschädliche Auswirkungen. Die Umstellung auf erneuerbare Energien ist zwar kostspielig, aber ein positiver Schritt zur langfristigen Verbesserung der öffentlichen Gesundheit und der Umwelt.


+ Artikelressourcen

[1] Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks. (2016). Air quality in Ontario 2016 report. Ontario Government.
[2] Rapp LJ. (2016, May 10). Climate change means more forest fires in Ontario. Here’s why. TVO.
[3] Peters D. (2020, October 5). Do Ontarians dream of electric vehicles? TVO.
[4] McKitrick R, et al. (2017). Did the coal phase-out reduce Ontario air pollution? Fraser Institute.

Welcher ist die am stärksten verschmutzte Stadt in Ontario?

Warenkorb
Ihr Warenkorb ist leer

Mit IQAir verbinden

Newsletter abonnieren

Air quality in Ontario

Air quality index (AQI) and PM2.5 air pollution in Ontario

LAST UPDATE (local time)

LIVE AQI CITY RANKING

Real-time Ontario
Most polluted city ranking

Tooltip icon
#cityUS AQI
1 Grand Bend

107

2 Simcoe

74

3 Port Stanley

70

4 Chatham

68

5 Mississauga

62

6 Toronto

62

7 Burlington

56

8 Hamilton

55

9 Windsor

51

10 Oakville

49

(local time)

SEE WORLD AQI RANKING

Air Quality contributors Sources

Data provided by

Contributors

5

Data sources

4

IQAir AirVisual logoIQAir AirVisual logoIQAir AirVisual logoIQAir AirVisual logoIQAir AirVisual logoIQAir AirVisual logo

Join the movement!

Get a monitor and contribute air quality data in your city.

Become a contributor
Find out more about contributors and data sources

LIVE AQI CITY RANKING

Real-time Ontario
Cleanest city ranking

Tooltip icon
#cityUS AQI
1 Tiverton

4

2 Peterborough

5

3 Newmarket

8

4 North Bay

12

5 Parry Sound

12

6 Sault Ste Marie

12

7 Brampton

17

8 Brantford

17

9 Thunder Bay

18

10 St. Catharines

21

(local time)

SEE WORLD AQI RANKING
Good
Moderate
Unhealthy for sensitive groups
Unhealthy
Very unhealthy
Hazardous
rectangle shape clicked to open the map in fullscreen
plus icon clicked to zoom the map in
minus icon clicked to zoom the map out

How to best protect from air pollution?

Reduce your air pollution exposure in Ontario

How is the air quality in Ontario?

Ontario air pollution levels are considered low, contributing to a generally “healthy” air quality status. In 2016, 93 percent of cities in the province met Canada’s “very good” or “good” air quality standards, which are among the most stringent in the World.1


Air pollution is often described as “smog,” a combination of pollutants in the air including ground-level ozone and PM2.5. Ontario smog season spans the months of May through September, where PM2.5 and ozone levels are typically at their highest concentrations. The region’s summer smog owes to weather patterns, such as high-pressure cells that draw pollutants from industrial and urbanized US cities over the US-Canada border, elevating air pollution levels in Ontario’s lower Great Lakes region.


Ozone pollution is unique in that it is not emitted directly from ground sources but rather formed in the atmosphere when nitrogen dioxide (NO2) and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) react in the presence of sunlight. It is for this reason that ozone concentrations are highly dependent on weather and climate conditions, which vary year to year. 2016 represented a warmer than average year with prolonged conditions for smog formation. During the summer of 2016, Ontario experienced 25 days of temperatures greater than 30°C that encouraged ozone development, while 19 air monitoring sites across the province recorded ozone levels above threshold.


Ontario’s action to reduce the emissions of ozone precursor pollutants has led to a 30 percent decrease of NO2 from 2007 to 2016. Despite this reduction, measured ozone has increased by 1 percent during this same time frame. Ontario ozone exceedances are most frequently reported in the southwestern part of the province on the shore of Lake Huron and Lake Erie, near the US border where transboundary pollution has a more significant effect on measured air quality. Scientists attribute rising ozone levels here to warming temperatures as a result of climate change, combined with ambient precursor pollutants carried over from industrial US cities nearby.


Fine particulate matter, or PM2.5, is another critical component of smog. More often than ozone, PM2.5 exists at levels that exceed Canada’s “good” standards. Ontario PM2.5 pollution comes primarily from residential wood-burning in the winter, wildfires in the late summer and early fall, and industry and transportation emissions.


The World Health Organization recommends that annual PM2.5 concentrations not exceed an average of 10 μg/m3. In Ontario, 97 percent of cities met this standard in 2019 – only Hamilton exceeded it. By the more stringent Canadian standard for annual PM2.5 set at 8 μg/m3, however, 3 monitored cities failed attainment: Hamilton air quality (10.1 μg/m3), Bainsville air quality (8.2 μg/m3), and Windsor air quality (8.2 μg/m3).


While these three cities are the most polluted in Ontario, they also ranked highly in the country, landing as the 11th, 21st, and 38th most polluted cities nationwide, respectively.


Between 2007 and 2016, PM2.5 concentrations in Ontario have fallen by 12 percent. The reductions are attributable to more stringent industrial and vehicular regulations and the phase-out of coal-fired power plants. Despite these air quality improvements, however, wildfires are expected to become more frequent and severe and may threaten Ontario’s PM2.5 concentrations in the future as the leading natural source.2

Where is the best air quality in Ontario?

Ontario is Canada's most populous province, home to nearly 40 percent of the nation’s population. It is also very large in area – at 1.076 million km², it is the second-largest province after Quebec (more than 1.5 times the size of Texas in the United States). Given the province’s large size and numerous metropolitan hubs, air quality in Ontario varies widely.


Ontario’s largest and most polluted cities are located largely in the southernmost part of the province close to the United States border. Many US border cities have air quality that exceeds Canada’s standard for annual PM2.5 exposure at 8 μg/m3. These cities include Cleveland air quality (13.3 μg/m3), Chicago air quality (12.8 μg/m3), Detroit air quality (9.9 μg/m3), Minneapolis air quality (8.8 μg/m3), and Milwaukee air quality (8.5 μg/m3).


Of Ontario’s largest cities, only Hamilton exceeds the Canadian PM2.5 standard (with an average annual concentration of 10.1 μg/m3). Ordered by descending population size, other major Canadian cities that meet standard include Toronto (7.4 μg/m3), Ottowa-Gatineau (7.8 μg/m3), Kitchener (6.8 μg/m3), London (6.4 μg/m3), and Oshawa (6.2 μg/m3).


Ontario’s best air quality tends to be further removed from the border and other major cities. In 2019, the top 5 cleanest cities in Ontario included Chalk River, Parry Sound, Lake of Bays, North Bay, and Sault Ste. Marie — all of which averaged annual PM2.5 concentrations under 5 μg/m3.

What is Ontario doing to reduce air pollution?

Ontario has taken an aggressive approach to combating air pollution, which has resulted in cleaner air today than at any time in recent history.


From 2007 to 2016, air pollution concentrations of key criteria pollutants have declined significantly, including:


  • 53 percent decrease in carbon monoxide (CO)
  • 51 percent decrease in sulphur dioxide (SO2)
  • 30 percent decrease in nitrogen dioxide (NO2), a key ozone precursor pollutant
  • 12 percent decrease in fine particulate matter (PM2.5)

These results come after a number of air quality regulations in Ontario, including:


  • the 2005 phase-out of coal-fired power plants (one of the largest initiatives in North America to reduce greenhouse gases)
  • increasing air quality standards, growing air quality monitoring coverage, and expanding local air quality regulation
  • more stringent caps and trade regulations on nitrogen oxides and sulphur dioxide emissions
  • new emission controls at smelters
  • adaptation and promotion of electric and low-emission vehicles through subsidies, buyers rebate and more charging stations3

What causes air pollution in Ontario?

Fine particulate matter (PM2.5) and ozone represent the two most dangerous air pollutants in Ontario present at harmful levels. While both pollutants contribute to short- and long-term health effects ranging from difficulty breathing and irritation of the airways to lung damage and early death, they differ by source and effect.


PM2.5 describes a mixture of microscopic airborne particulates, ranging from dust, ash, and pollen to fumes, chemicals, and aerosols. It is defined by its size rather than its chemical makeup, as different health effects are correlated to particles of different sizes. PM2.5 pollution is the smallest type of particulate matter commonly measured by Canada’s Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). It is often weighted in importance and danger for its ability to bypass the lungs and become absorbed into the circulatory system, causing far-reaching health effects.


As for anthropogenic, or human-caused, sources, Ontario’s provincial government estimates that:


  • 56 percent of PM2.5 comes from residential sources (including activity such as winter wood-burning and BBQing)
  • 21 percent comes from industrial sources (8 percent of which is from metal smelters and 4 percent of which is from the cement and concrete industry)
  • 5 percent comes from road vehicles
  • 7 percent comes from other forms of transportation
  • 11 percent is from miscellaneous activity, such as construction and wind-blown dust

From 2007 to 2016, Ontario PM2.5 emissions have been reduced by 16 percent. The largest reductions have been in transport emissions, followed by industrial emissions.


Ground-level ozone is a highly irritating ,colorless, odorless gas pollutant formed when nitrogen dioxide (NO2) and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) react in sunlight. Ozone formation is highly dependent on certain ideal environmental conditions, including temperatures over 29 degrees and the prevalence of precursor pollutants. Since abundant sunshine and warm temperatures are required for ozone formation, changing weather causes differences in ozone concentrations. Ontario’s highest ozone levels typically occur on warm days between May and September, often occurring from noon through the early evening.


Human-contributed sources for nitrogen oxides in Ontario include


  • 69 percent transportation-related sources (34 percent of which are “road vehicles”)
  • 11 percent residential sources
  • 17 percent industrial sources
  • 3 percent utilities sources

Human-contributed sources for volatile organic compounds in Ontario include


  • 28 percent transportation related sources (11 percent of which is from road vehicles)
  • 26 percent general solvent use
  • 15 percent industrial sources
  • 16 percent residential sources
  • 9 percent printing/surface coating
  • 6 percent miscellaneous sources

Did the coal phase out reduce Ontario air pollution?

In 2005, Ontario began to phase out coal-fired power plants in an effort to drive down emissions and adverse health effects related to dirty air. A preliminary report estimated this action would lead to $3 billion in annual health care savings as a result of fewer smog-related air toxins.4 Subsequent reports and post phase-out data, reveals changes in Ontario air quality were rather small, and the previous model overestimated its effect on health care savings.


A study conducted by Fraser Institute found that the elimination of coal-fired power plants reduced PM2.5 levels in Ontario’s urban areas by 1 to 2 μg/m3, equivalent to a 6 to 12 percent reduction from the city's highest levels. Less significant were Ontario’s reduction in ozone levels, which appear to have been offset by an increase in natural gas plant emissions.


While the coal phase out reduced Ontario air pollution levels, perhaps more significant was the reduction of greenhouse gases in the fight against climate change rather than the reduction of air pollutants in relation to adverse health effects. Moreover, while costly, the move to renewable energies is a positive step towards improving both public health and the environment in the long-term.


+ Article Resources

[1] Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks. (2016). Air quality in Ontario 2016 report. Ontario Government.
[2] Rapp LJ. (2016, May 10). Climate change means more forest fires in Ontario. Here’s why. TVO.
[3] Peters D. (2020, October 5). Do Ontarians dream of electric vehicles? TVO.
[4] McKitrick R, et al. (2017). Did the coal phase-out reduce Ontario air pollution? Fraser Institute.

Which is the most polluted city in Ontario?

Connect With IQAir

Sign up for our newsletter