Qualité de l’air à Reno

Indice de qualité de l’air (IQA) et pollution de l’air (PM2.5) à Reno

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR (Heure locale)

36.3K personnes suivent cette ville

  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
Carte IQAir avec points colorées AQI

Contributeurs de données sur la qualité de l'air

Données fournies par

Contributeurs

2

Logo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisual

Rejoignez le mouvement !

Particper au partage d'information de qualite d'air dans le monde, installez un moniteur dans votre ville.

Devenez un contributeur
Renseignes toi plus sur les sources des contributeurs et des données

Temps

Quel temps fait-il actuellement à Reno?

Icône météo
TempsPartiellement nuageux
Température62.6°C
Humidité35%
Vent11 mp/h
Pression1016 mb

Classement IQA des villes en direct

Classement en direct des principales villes aux États-Unis

Icône d'info-bulle
#cityIQA US
1 Keeler, Californie

283

2 Lone Pine, Californie

269

3 Ridgecrest, Californie

248

4 Inyokern, Californie

243

5 Trona, Californie

174

6 Searles Valley, Californie

172

7 Goldfield, Nevada

167

8 Kernville, Californie

158

9 Inyo, Californie

157

10 Belle Vernon, Pennsylvanie

156

(Heure locale)

CLASSEMENT MONDIAL DE l’IQA

Classement IQA en direct à Reno

Classement de la qualité de l’air en direct à Reno

Icône d'info-bulle
#stationIQA US
1 South Reno

32

2 Reno4

15

3 State Street

8

4 420 Evans Avenue

3

5 Edmonton Drive

3

6 Toll

2

7 4965 Mason Road

1

8 Carriage House Way

1

9 Caughlin Creek Road

1

10 Gemtown Drive

1

(Heure locale)

CLASSEMENT MONDIAL DE l’IQA

IQA US

1

IQA en direct
Bon

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI

Vue d’ensemble

Quelle est la qualité de l’air actuellement à Reno?

Niveau de pollution de l’airIndice de pollution de l’airPrincipaux polluants
Bon 1 IQA UStrendPM2.5
PolluantsConcentration
PM2.5
0.2 µg/m³trend
!

PM2.5

x0

La concentration en particules PM2.5 en/au/à Reno est 0 fois supérieure aux lignes directrices de l'OMS relatives à la qualité de l’air

Recommandations de santé

Comment se protéger de la pollution de l’air à Reno?

Une icône de fenêtre ouverteOpen your windows to bring clean, fresh air indoors
Une icône d'une personne qui fait du véloEnjoy outdoor activities

Prévision

Prévision de l’indice de qualité de l’air (IQA) à Reno

JourNiveau de pollutionTempsTempératureVent
mercredi, sept. 15

Moyen 89 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
jeudi, sept. 16

Moyen 95 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
vendredi, sept. 17

Moyen 67 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
samedi, sept. 18

Bon 26 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo69.8°53.6°
Vent tournant à 228 degré

15.7 mp/h

Aujourd’hui

Bon 1 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo69.8°48.2°
Vent tournant à 88 degré

8.9 mp/h

lundi, sept. 20

Bon 31 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo84.2°51.8°
Vent tournant à 247 degré

13.4 mp/h

mardi, sept. 21

Moyen 97 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo82.4°57.2°
Vent tournant à 225 degré

22.4 mp/h

mercredi, sept. 22

Moyen 60 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo75.2°53.6°
Vent tournant à 26 degré

11.2 mp/h

jeudi, sept. 23

Moyen 55 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo78.8°55.4°
Vent tournant à 113 degré

11.2 mp/h

vendredi, sept. 24

Moyen 80 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo78.8°57.2°
Vent tournant à 265 degré

6.7 mp/h

Intéressé par des prévisions horaires? Télécharger l’application

Historique

Graphique de l’historique de la qualité de l’air à Reno

Comment se protéger au mieux de la pollution de l’air?

Réduire votre exposition à la pollution de l’air à Reno

ANALYSES ET STATISTIQUES DE LA QUALITé DE L’AIR POUR Reno

*Traduit à l'aide de la traduction automatique

Quelle est la qualité de l'air à Reno, Nevada ?

La qualité de l'air de Reno est généralement considérée comme saine . En 2019, Reno a obtenu en moyenne un indice de qualité de l'air (AQI) de 18, bien dans la norme «bonne» de l'Agence américaine de protection de l'environnement (EPA) qui exige un score de 50 ou moins. Chaque mois en 2019 respectait cette norme, avec des moyennes allant d' une mesure de l' AQI de 13 en mars à une mesure de l' AQI de 20 en novembre .


Alors que la qualité de l'air de Reno pose généralement peu ou pas de risque pour la santé, les pics de pollution PM2,5 et l'ozone contribuent à environ 12 jours de qualité de l'air malsaine par an.


Les pics de pollution PM2,5 indiquent généralement la fumée des incendies de forêt qui brûlent dans les forêts nationales d'Eldorado, Tahoe et Plumas, entre autres à l'étranger. Au cours de la période de suivi 2016-2018, g rand Ren o, qui comprend Washoe, Storey et Lyon comtés, ainsi que la capitale de l' Etat, Carson City , en moyenne 2,7 jours de PM2,5 malsains par an.1 L'US EPA vise une allocation annuelle ne dépassant pas 3,2 jours de PM2,5 insalubres par an . Bien que Reno ait satisfait à cette norme, la ville a été notée «D» par l'American Lung Association (ALA) pour la pollution à court terme par les PM2,5, soulignant la marge de progression.


Le climat chaud de Reno crée les conditions de pics temporaires de pollution par l'ozone . L'ozone se forme dans l'atmosphère lorsque les gaz ( NO2 et COV ) émis par les tuyaux d'échappement, les cheminées et d'autres sources de polluants de combustion réagissent à la lumière du soleil. Étant donné que le soleil et la chaleur abondante est nécessaire pour la couche d' ozone - la formation réaction chimique doit avoir lieu, p saison d'ozone EAK se déroule généralement de Juillet à Octobre lorsque les températures courent le plus élevé dans la région du comté de Washoe Reno.


Au cours de la période de surveillance 2016-2018, Reno en moyenne 9,7 jours d'ozone malsaines par an , à défaut de se conformer à la limite fédérale qui permet de pas plus de 3,2 jours d'ozone malsains par an . L'exposition à l'ozone à des niveaux élevés peut provoquer des infections des voies respiratoires, des difficultés respiratoires, des lésions pulmonaires permanentes et la mort prématurée. Les résidents qui souffrent de cancer du poumon, d'asthme, de MPOC et de maladies cardiovasculaires doivent rester à l'écoute des niveaux de pollution atmosphérique de Reno ainsi que des villes environnantes telles que Carson City, Sparks et Virginia City .


Découvrez si les niveaux de pollution de l'air à Reno sont sains ou potentiellement dangereux en utilisant le site Web et l'application mobile d'IQAir. Une mesure AQI inférieure à 50, code couleur «vert», indique que la qualité de l'air est conforme aux normes de l'EPA des États-Unis et est considérée comme respirable sans danger. Faites preuve de prudence et suivez les conseils de santé lorsque les mesures d'AQI dépassent 50, en particulier après que les mesures d' AQI dépassent 150 ( «malsain» ).

Reno a-t-il une mauvaise qualité de l'air en été?

Les étés de Reno sont chauds et arides . Au cours d' une année, Reno température s généralement vont de 23 ° F à 90 ° F.2 G réchauffement lobes , cependant, est progressivement provoque la hausse des températures dans la g rand zone Reno . 2018 a connu une séquence record de 20 jours avec des températures atteignant 100 degrés ou plus . Le dernier record n'avait été établi que deux ans plus tôt en 2016.3


La chaleur accélère la réaction chimique qui forme de l'ozone troposphérique à partir de précurseurs de polluants ambiants comme le dioxyde d'azote (NO2) et les composés organiques (COV). Lorsque les températures sont élevées (supérieures à 84 degrés) et que la lumière du soleil est abondante, les niveaux d'ozone ont tendance à augmenter rapidement. À Reno, l'ozone est le polluant qui cause le plus grand nombre de jours de mauvaise qualité de l'air, dont la plupart se produisent en été.


Les feux de forêt régionaux, bien que temporaires et sporadiques, représentent une autre menace pour la qualité de l'air d'été de Reno . Les incendies à travers la Californie et le Nevada sont devenus plus répandus et plus dommageables en raison du changement climatique, entraînant des pics plus élevés de pollution atmosphérique régionale. Le Perry Fire 2018, par exemple, qui a été allumé en juillet de cette année-là, a brûlé un total de 51000 acres et a contribué aux pires niveaux de pollution atmosphérique jamais enregistrés dans la région de Reno-Sparks , provoquant des pics de particules, de monoxyde de carbone, de formaldéhyde, les hydrocarbures et l'oxyde d'azote.4


Avril, mai et juin sont les mois les plus venteux de Reno en raison des vents de Washoe Zephyr . Le réchauffement des températures provoquent des vents forts de forme lorsque de l' air chaud sur les deux côtés de la Sierra mélanger ensemble et accélérer à mesure qu'ils progressent vers le bas dans les régions inférieures.5 Bien que les vents favorisent la dispersion de la pollution de la vallée, t es p vents uissance, lorsque combiné à une faible humidité et hautes températures au début de la saison des feux de forêt, peut augmenter le risque grave, EXPRESS- de plus en plus les feux de forêt .

D'où vient la poussière de Reno ?

La poussière décrit les particules en suspension dans l'air, dont la plus dangereuse est les PM2,5 , des particules mesurant 2,5 micromètres ou moins. En raison de son microscopique près de la taille, PM2,5 peut pénétrer profondément dans les poumons lorsqu'il est inhalé , entrant parfois dans la circulation sanguine, ce qui provoque beaucoup - pour atteindre les effets sur la santé.


D ust dans la région de Reno souffle généralement depuis les régions de Smoke Creek et de Black Rock Desert . Les tempêtes de poussière sont plus susceptibles de se former dans des conditions sèches lorsqu'il y a peu d' humidité dans le sol . De telles conditions ne sont pas rares à Reno , qui reçoit relativement litt l e précipitation.


Le Nevada est l'État le plus sec des États-Unis , avec des précipitations moyennes à l'échelle de l'État de seulement 10 pouces. Le comté de Washoe reçoit environ 11 pouces de pluie sur une période d' environ 52 jours, en moyenne, par an.6 La pluie peut aider à réduire la poussière et la pollution pendant les mois d'hiver, mais les précipitations dans cette région sont rares par rapport à d'autres régions du pays .


En Janvier et février vrier 2020, R eno de » taux de précipitations est tombé à moins de cinquante pour cent . D conditions de Ry, de forts vents Sierra, et un front froid du haut désert ont conduit des rafales de poussière dans la région et contri ed de mauvaise qualité de l' air à Reno .


Diables de poussière sont tourbillon de la poussière et la saleté , une commune de phénomène météorologique dans la région. Ils se forment lorsque le soleil réchauffe le sol et caus es air au niveau du sol à la hausse, ce qui crée une zone de basse pression. À mesure que l'air entre pour remplir le vide, il commence à circuler pour former un entonnoir.7 Lorsque d devils ust deviennent grandes , ils peuvent prendre l'apparence d' entonnoir nuage de tornades , menaçant la visibilité et la qualité de l' air .


La respiration du coup de pied - en la matière particulaire, peut être dangereux. Les tempêtes de poussière peuvent durer des kilomètres et atteindre des milliers de pieds de haut . Parfois, ils ' re si énorme qu'ils sont visibles sur les images satellite. Les avertissements de drapeau rouge sont souvent émis par les autorités locales lors de tels événements . Lorsque Reno est affecté par une tempête de poussière, scellez les espaces intérieurs des polluants extérieurs, faites fonctionner un purificateur d'air et portez un masque pendant les activités de plein air, le cas échéant.

Qu'est-ce qui cause la pollution de l'air à Reno?

Reno fait partie de la vaste région métropolitaine de Reno-Sparks . W vec une population d'environ 260 000, il est le deuxième plus quartier populeux dans le Nevada après la vallée de Las Vegas. Le centre de divertissement attire des millions de touristes chaque année, ce qui entraîne une augmentation de la pollution de l'air due à la combustion de combustibles fossiles dans les véhicules à moteur et les avions . En plus du transport, la qualité de l'air de Reno est souvent soumise à des sources de pollution naturelles telles que les incendies de forêt et la poussière soulevée par le vent. La construction, l'industrie et les émissions résidentielles telles que la combustion du bois contribuent à la qualité de l'air de Reno, bien qu'elles représentent des sources moindres.


Les deux principaux composants des gaz d'échappement des voitures comprennent les hydrocarbures de l'essence et l'oxyde d'azote émis par les moteurs à combustion interne chauds . W poule ces éléments sont libérés dans l'air chaud du désert, la chaleur du soleil peut cuire les en ozone - un élément clé du smog. L'ozone représente la plus grande menace dans l'air de Reno , contribuant à 9,7 jours de mauvaise qualité de l'air.


Incendies d'été et les niveaux de smog à l' ozone des véhicules ha avons augmenté la pollution atmosphérique Reno taux au cours des dernières années . En septembre 2020, l'AQMD du district de santé du comté de Washoe a émis un avertissement de pollution atmosphérique de stade 2 - le premier jamais émis par le bureau du district de santé.


Le principal polluant, décrit en haut de cette page et mis à jour en temps réel, indique quel polluant existe actuellement au niveau le plus risqué. Normalement, l'ozone est le principal polluant pendant les mois d'été tandis que les PM2,5 sont le principal polluant pendant les mois d'hiver.

Quelle est la meilleure qualité de l'air de Reno ?

Reno, connue comme la plus grande petite ville du monde , attire chaque année des millions de touristes dans ses casinos et stations de ski à proximité.8 Voir des images du paysage poussiéreux de Reno peut amener les visiteurs à se demander quand la qualité de l'air dans la ville est la meilleure. Contrairement à souvent circulaient des représentations Captur ing un paysage poussiéreux, la qualité de l' air Reno est généralement très propre.


Les épisodes de mauvaise qualité de l'air sont assez rares et sont généralement le résultat d'incendies de forêt ou de brûlage de bois à la fin de l'été et en hiver. La Division de la gestion de la qualité de l'air du district sanitaire du comté de Washoe a pris des mesures pour réduire le risque de pollution de l'air due aux incendies de forêt en déclenchant des incendies dirigés .9 Ce sont les incendies allumés par les gestionnaires forestiers dans des conditions météorologiques moins inflammables et relégués à des lignes de commande afin de sous - bois des forêts claires qui peuvent o inon servir wildf i re carburant. Les brûlages dirigés peuvent affecter temporairement la qualité de l' air, mais ils se sont avérés être un moyen efficace de prévenir la propagation des incendies de forêt massifs , de réduire considérablement les effets de fumée , et Protec t santé publique.


Janvier et février 2019 ont été les mois les plus pollués de Reno . Cela était dû à l'augmentation des émissions quotidiennes provenant de la combustion du bois en hiver et à un événement météorologique de piégeage de la pollution courant en hiver connu sous le nom d'inversions d'air frais. Les inversions d'air frais se produisent lorsque l'air gelé au niveau du sol, en raison des températures glaciales ou de la couverture de neige, est emprisonné par une couche d'air plus chaude au-dessus. Lorsque cela se produit, les émissions sont également piégées et incapables de se disperser librement.


Suivez l'indice de qualité de l'air de Reno en temps réel pour rester à l'écoute des risques pour la santé dans l'air et prêt à prendre des mesures de précaution pour réduire l'exposition à la pollution.


+ Ressources de l'article

[1] Association pulmonaire américaine . (2020). État du rapport A ir.
[2] Météo S parc . (2020). Conditions météorologiques moyennes à Reno.
[3] Spillman B. (17 septembre 2018). L'été étouffant de Reno a été un record . Journal de Reno Gazette.
[4] Sonner S. (31 juillet 2018). La Californie incendie la zone de Reno avec une pollution atmosphérique historique . Las Vegas - Journal de revue.
[5] Timko S. (4 mai 2014). Les mois d'avril à juin sont les plus venteux à Reno . Journal de Reno Gazette.
[6] Meilleurs endroits. (2020). Climat dans le comté de Washoe, Nevada.
[7] Résultats actuels. (2020). Reno t emperatures: A verages par m ois .
[8] McInnis K. (25 juin 2020). La «plus grande petite ville du monde» vient d'être nommée meilleure petite ville d'Amérique.
[9] Comté de Washoe, NV. (2020). Smoke m anagement p rogramme.

Se connecter avec IQAir

S’inscrire à notre lettre d’information

Air quality in Reno

Air quality index (AQI) and PM2.5 air pollution in Reno

LAST UPDATE (local time)

37.1K people follow this city

  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
IQAir map with AQI colorful pins

Air Quality contributors Sources

Data provided by

Contributors

2

IQAir AirVisual logoIQAir AirVisual logo

Join the movement!

Get a monitor and contribute air quality data in your city.

Become a contributor
Find out more about contributors and data sources

Weather

What is the current weather in Reno?

Weather icon
WeatherClear sky
Temperature82.4°C
Humidity19%
Wind6 mp/h
Pressure1013 mb

live aqi city ranking

Real-time USA city ranking

Tooltip icon
#cityUS AQI
1 Three Rivers, California

314

2 Hoopa, California

216

3 Lake Isabella, California

206

4 June Lake, California

195

5 Auberry, California

194

6 Siskiyou, California

188

7 Mammoth Lakes, California

185

8 Bodfish, California

182

9 Orleans, California

182

10 North Fork, California

180

(local time)

SEE WORLD AQI RANKING

live Reno aqi ranking

Real-time Reno air quality ranking

Tooltip icon
#stationUS AQI
1 420 Evans Avenue

167

2 Mont Pelier

155

3 Highland Spur

154

4 Snow Flower Drive

153

5 Montreux

152

6 Stovepipe outside

151

7 Montreux Galena Creek

149

8 Piney Creek Road

142

9 2610 Cartwright Road

141

10 Jackalope

136

(local time)

SEE WORLD AQI RANKING

Reno webcam

8:10, Sep 17

Is there air pollution in Reno?

Thumbnail of Reno webcam at 8:10, Sep 17

US AQI

112

live AQI index
Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups

Human face indicating AQI level

Overview

What is the current air quality in Reno?

Air pollution levelAir quality indexMain pollutant
Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups 112 US AQItrendPM2.5
PollutantsConcentration
PM2.5
39.9 µg/m³trend
!

PM2.5

x3

PM2.5 concentration in Reno air is currently 3 times above the WHO annual air quality guideline value

Health Recommendations

How to protect from air pollution in Reno?

An IQAir mask icon Sensitive groups should wear a mask outdoors
Get a Mask
An IQAir purifier icon Run an air purifier
Get an air purifier
An open window iconClose your windows to avoid dirty outdoor air
A man cycling iconEveryone should reduce outdoor exercise

Forecast

Reno air quality index (AQI) forecast

DayPollution levelWeatherTemperatureWind
Monday, Sep 13

Moderate 84 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Tuesday, Sep 14

Moderate 96 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Wednesday, Sep 15

Moderate 89 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Thursday, Sep 16

Moderate 92 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon82.4°57.2°
Wind rotating 245 degree

17.9 mp/h

Today

Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups 112 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon73.4°55.4°
Wind rotating 230 degree

29.1 mp/h

Saturday, Sep 18

Good 20 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon69.8°53.6°
Wind rotating 315 degree

13.4 mp/h

Sunday, Sep 19

Good 24 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon69.8°48.2°
Wind rotating 95 degree

8.9 mp/h

Monday, Sep 20

Good 25 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon82.4°53.6°
Wind rotating 248 degree

6.7 mp/h

Tuesday, Sep 21

Moderate 74 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon84.2°59°
Wind rotating 249 degree

15.7 mp/h

Wednesday, Sep 22

Moderate 58 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon80.6°55.4°
Wind rotating 47 degree

4.5 mp/h

Interested in hourly forecast? Get the app

Historical

Historic air quality graph for Reno

How to best protect from air pollution?

Reduce your air pollution exposure in Reno

AIR QUALITY ANALYSIS AND STATISTICS FOR Reno

How is the air quality in Reno, Nevada?

Reno air quality is generally considered healthy. In 2019, Reno averaged an air quality index (AQI) score of 18, well within the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) “good” standard that requires a score of 50 or less. Each month in 2019 met this standard, with averages ranging from an AQI measurement of 13 in March to an AQI measurement of 20 in November.


While Reno air quality usually poses little to no risk to health, spikes in PM2.5 and ozone pollution contribute to roughly 12 unhealthy air quality days per year.


Spikes in PM2.5 pollution are usually indicative of smoke from wildfires burning in the Eldorado, Tahoe and Plumas national forests, among others further abroad. During the 2016 to 2018 monitoring period, greater Reno, which includes Washoe, Storey, and Lyon Counties as well as the state capital, Carson City, averaged 2.7 unhealthy PM2.5 days per year.1 The US EPA targets an annual allowance of no more than 3.2 unhealthy PM2.5 days per year. While Reno met this standard, the city was rated a “D” by the American Lung Association (ALA) for short-term PM2.5 pollution, highlighting room for improvement.


Reno’s warm climate creates the conditions for temporary spikes in ozone pollution. Ozone is formed in the atmosphere when gases (NO2 and VOCs) emitted from tailpipes, smokestacks, and other sources of combustion pollutants react in sunlight. Since abundant sunshine and heat is required for the ozone-forming chemical reaction to take place, peak ozone season generally runs from July to October when temperatures run highest in Reno’s Washoe County region.


During the 2016 to 2018 monitoring period, Reno averaged 9.7 unhealthy ozone days per year, failing to comply with the federal limit that allows no more than 3.2 unhealthy ozone days per year. Ozone exposure at high levels can produce airway infections, breathing difficulty, permanent lung damage, and premature death. Residents who suffer from lung cancer, asthma, COPD, and cardiovascular disease should stay attuned to Reno’s air pollution levels as well as in surrounding cities such as Carson City, Sparks, and Virginia City.


Discover whether air pollution levels in Reno are healthy or potentially dangerous using the IQAir website and mobile app. An AQI measurement under 50, color-coded “green,” indicates that air quality meets US EPA standards and is considered safe to breathe. Exercise caution and follow health advisories when AQI measurements exceed 50, especially after AQI measurements excees 150 (“unhealthy”).

Does Reno have poor air quality in the summer?

Reno’s summers are hot and arid. Over the course of a year, Reno’s temperatures typically range from 23°F to 90°F.2 Global warming, however, is gradually causing higher temperatures in the greater Reno area. 2018 experienced a record-breaking streak of 20 days with temperatures reaching 100 degrees or more. The last record had been set only two years earlier in 2016.3


Heat accelerates the chemical reaction that forms ground-level ozone from ambient precursor pollutants like nitrogen dioxide (NO2) and organic compounds (VOCs). When temperatures are high (above 84 degrees) and sunlight is abundant, ozone levels tend to rise quickly. In Reno, ozone is the pollutant that causes the highest number of unhealthy air quality days, most of which occur in the summer.


Regional wildfires, although temporary and sporadic, represent another threat to Reno’s summer air quality. Fires across California and Nevada have become more widespread and damaging as a result of climate change, resulting in higher spikes in regional air pollution. The 2018 Perry Fire, for example, which was ignited in July that year, burned a total of 51,000 acres and contributed to the worst air pollution levels ever recorded in the Reno-Sparks area, causing spikes in particulate matter, carbon monoxide, formaldehyde, hydrocarbons, and nitrogen oxide.4


April, May, and June are Reno’s windiest months as a result of Washoe Zephyr winds. Warming temperatures cause strong winds to form when hot air on both sides of the Sierra mix together and accelerate as they move down into lower regions.5 While winds promote pollution dispersion from the valley, these powerful winds, when combined with low humidity and high temperatures at the start of the wildfire season, can raise the risk severe, fast-growing wildfires.

Where does Reno dust come from?

Dust describes airborne particulate matter, the most dangerous of which is PM2.5, particulate matter that measures 2.5 micrometers in size or smaller. Due to its near microscopic size, PM2.5 can penetrate deep into the lungs when inhaled, sometimes entering the bloodstream, causing far-reaching health effects.


Dust in the Reno area typically blows in from the Smoke Creek and Black Rock Desert areas. Dust storms are more likely to form in dry conditions when there is little moisture in the ground. Such conditions are not uncommon in Reno, which receives relatively little precipitation.


Nevada is the driest state in the U.S., with a statewide average precipitation of only 10 inches. Washoe County gets about 11 inches of rain over a roughly 52-day span, on average, per year.6 Rain can help tamp down dust and pollution during the winter months, but rainfall in this region is rare compared to other sections of the country. In January and February of 2020, Reno’s precipitation rate fell to below fifty percent. Dry conditions, strong Sierra winds, and a cold front from the high desert drove gusts of dust across the region and contributed to unhealthy air quality in Reno.


Dust devils are whirlwinds of dust and dirt, a weather phenomenon common to the area. They are formed when the sun warms the ground and causes ground-level air to rise, creating an area of low pressure. As air flows in to fill the void, it starts circulating to form a funnel.7 When dust devils become large, they can take on the funnel-cloud appearance of tornadoes, threatening visibility and air quality.


Breathing in the kicked-up particulate matter, can be hazardous. Dust storms can be miles long and reach thousands of feet high. Sometimes, they’re so enormous they can be seen on satellite images. Red Flag Warnings are often issued by local authorities during such events. When Reno is affected by a dust storm, seal indoor spaces from outdoor pollutants, run an air purifier, and wear a mask during outdoor activities if available.

What causes air pollution in Reno?

Reno makes up part of the sprawling Reno-Sparks metropolitan area. With a population of roughly 260,000, it’s the second-most populous district in Nevada after the Las Vegas Valley. The entertainment hub attracts millions of tourists each year, resulting in increased air pollution through fossil fuel combustion in motor vehicles and planes. In addition to transportation, Reno air quality is frequently subject to natural pollution sources such as wildfires and windblown dust. Construction, industry, and residential emissions such as wood burning, contribute to Reno’s air quality mix, though they represent lesser sources.


Two main components of car exhaust include hydrocarbons from gasoline and nitrogen oxide emitted from hot, internal combustion engines. When these elements are released into the warm desert air, the sun’s heat can bake them into ozone — a key component of smog. Ozone represents the greatest threat in Reno’s air, contributing to 9.7 unhealthy air quality days.


Summer fires and ozone-based smog levels from vehicles have increased Reno air pollution rates in recent years. In September 2020, the Washoe County Health District AQMD issued a Stage 2 Air Pollution Warning — the first ever issued by the Health District Office.


The main pollutant, outlined at the top of this page and updated in real-time, indicates which pollutant currently exists at the riskiest level. Normally, ozone is the main pollutant in the summer months while PM2.5 is the main pollutant in the winter months.

When is Reno air quality the best?

Reno, known as the biggest little city in the world, attracts millions of tourists each year to its casinos and nearby ski resorts.8 Seeing images of Reno’s dusty landscape may lead visitors to wonder when air quality in the city is best. Contrary to frequently circulated depictions capturing a dusty landscape, Reno air quality is usually very clean.


Spells of unhealthy air quality are quite rare, and are usually the result of wildfires or wood burning in the late summer and winter. Washoe County Health District Air Quality Management Division has taken action to reduce the risk of air pollution from wildfires by initiating prescribed fires.9 These are fires ignited by forest managers during less flammable weather conditions and relegated to control lines in order to clear forest underbrush that may otherwise serve as wildfire fuel. Prescribed fires may temporarily affect air quality, but they have proven to be an effective way to prevent the spread of massive wildfires, significantly minimize smoke impacts, and protect public health.


January and February of 2019 were Reno’s most polluted months. This was because of the increase in daily emissions from winter wood burning and a pollution-trapping weather event common in the winter known as cool-air inversions. Cool air inversions occur when frozen ground-level air, as a result of freezing temperatures or snow coverage, become trapped by a warmer air layer above. When this happens, emissions also become trapped and unable to disperse freely.


Follow Reno’s air quality index in real-time to stay attuned to health risks in the air, and ready to take precautionary measures to reduce pollution exposure.


+ Article Resources

[1] American Lung Association. (2020). State of the Air report.
[2] Weather Spark. (2020). Average weather in Reno.
[3] Spillman B. (2018, September 17). Reno’s sweltering summer was a record-breaker. Reno Gazette Journal.
[4] Sonner S. (2018, July 31). California fires blanket Reno area with historic air pollution. Las Vegas – Review Journal.
[5] Timko S. (2014, May 4). April to June are windiest months in Reno. Reno Gazette Journal.
[6] Best Places. (2020). Climate in Washoe County, Nevada.
[7] Current Results. (2020). Reno temperatures: Averages by month.
[8] McInnis K. (2020, June 25). The ‘Biggest Little City In The World’ was just named The Best Small City In America.
[9] Washoe County, NV. (2020). Smoke management program.

Connect With IQAir

Sign up for our newsletter