Qualité de l’air à Denver

Indice de qualité de l’air (IQA) et pollution de l’air (PM2.5) à Denver

Dernière mise à jour à (Heure locale)

1.9M personnes suivent cette ville

  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
  • L'image de profil du suiveur
Carte IQAir avec points colorées AQI

Contributeur(s) de données sur la qualité de l'air

Station(s) exploitée par

Contributeurs

30

Logo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisualLogo IQAir AirVisual

Rejoignez le mouvement !

Particper au partage d'information de qualite d'air dans le monde, installez un moniteur dans votre ville.

Devenez un contributeur
Renseignes toi plus sur les sources des contributeurs et des données

Temps

Quel temps fait-il actuellement à Denver?

Icône météo
TempsCiel clair
Température33.8°F
Humidité44%
Vent5.7 mp/h
Pression30 Hg

Classement IQA des villes en direct

Classement en direct des principales villes aux États-Unis

#cityIQA US
1 Enterprise, Oregon

210

2 Joseph, Oregon

190

3 La Grange Park, Illinois

166

4 Lemont, Illinois

166

5 Park City, Illinois

166

6 Saint Charles, Illinois

166

7 Shorewood, Illinois

166

8 Streamwood, Illinois

166

9 Milan, Illinois

163

10 Fort Jones, Californie

156

(Heure locale)

CLASSEMENT MONDIAL DE l’IQA

Classement IQA en direct à Denver

Classement de la qualité de l’air en direct à Denver

#stationIQA US
1 Cheesman Park

57

2 Welby - 78th Ave. & Steele St.

57

3 Salina Junction

53

4 South Park Hill

50

5 Spruce Street

39

6 4620 Pearl Street

33

7 2256 S Emerson St

30

8 South Washington Street

30

9 Elm Street

25

10 Globeville

25

(Heure locale)

CLASSEMENT MONDIAL DE l’IQA

Denver webcam

5:56, déc. 7

L’air est-il pollué à Denver?

Vignette de Denver webcam à 5:56, déc. 7

IQA US

21

IQA en direct
Bon

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI

Vue d’ensemble

Quelle est la qualité de l’air actuellement à Denver?

Niveau de pollution de l’airIndice de pollution de l’airPrincipaux polluants
Bon 21 IQA UStrendPM2.5
PolluantsConcentration
PM2.5
5µg/m³
PM10
15.5µg/m³
O3
46µg/m³trend
NO2
80.8µg/m³trend

La concentration en particules PM2.5 en/au/à Denver respectent les lignes directrices de l'OMS

Recommandations de santé

Comment se protéger de la pollution de l’air à Denver?

Une icône de fenêtre ouverteOpen your windows to bring clean, fresh air indoors
Une icône d'une personne qui fait du véloEnjoy outdoor activities

Prévision

Prévision de l’indice de qualité de l’air (IQA) à Denver

JourNiveau de pollutionTempsTempératureVent
samedi, déc. 3

Bon 40 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo51.8°35.6°
Vent tournant à 185 degré

4.5 mp/h

dimanche, déc. 4

Bon 32 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo50°39.2°
Vent tournant à 80 degré

11.2 mp/h

lundi, déc. 5

Bon 21 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo48.2°32°
Vent tournant à 344 degré

8.9 mp/h

Aujourd’hui

Bon 21 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo48.2°33.8°
Vent tournant à 324 degré

8.9 mp/h

mercredi, déc. 7

Bon 19 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo46.4°33.8°
Vent tournant à 294 degré

15.7 mp/h

jeudi, déc. 8

Bon 12 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo41°32°
Vent tournant à 2 degré

4.5 mp/h

vendredi, déc. 9

Bon 13 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo44.6°32°
Vent tournant à 328 degré

6.7 mp/h

samedi, déc. 10

Bon 5 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo51.8°33.8°
Vent tournant à 186 degré

4.5 mp/h

dimanche, déc. 11

Bon 7 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo41°32°
Vent tournant à 345 degré

6.7 mp/h

lundi, déc. 12

Bon 6 IQA US

Visage humain indiquant le niveau AQI
Icône météo32°24.8°
Vent tournant à 15 degré

15.7 mp/h

Intéressé par des prévisions horaires? Télécharger l’application

Historique

Graphique de l’historique de la qualité de l’air à Denver

Comment se protéger au mieux de la pollution de l’air?

Réduire votre exposition à la pollution de l’air à Denver

ANALYSES ET STATISTIQUES DE LA QUALITé DE L’AIR POUR Denver

*Traduit à l'aide de la traduction automatique

Denver, Colorado est-elle une ville polluée?

En 2019, Denver a obtenu en moyenne un indice annuel de la qualité de l'air (IQA) de 34, ce qui correspond à la catégorie «bon» AQI. Cependant, la qualité de l'air de Denver ne satisfait pas aux autres normes de réalisation, telles que les seuils de PM2,5 et d'ozone quotidiens. Ce sont les fluctuations quotidiennes de la pollution de Denver, en particulier pendant les mois d'hiver, qui font que Denver se classe parmi les 10 pires villes américaines pour la pollution atmosphérique dangereuse selon diverses études indépendantes.1


Un décompte fédéral a révélé que les résidents de Denver ont respiré un air dépassant les normes gouvernementales pendant plus de 260 jours de 2018 à 2019. avec une maladie cardiaque ou pulmonaire. Selon les estimations, 338 217 habitants de Denver sont considérés comme «sensibles» à la pollution de l’air, soit plus de 40% de la population de la ville.2


Selon le rapport State of the Air, publié chaque année par l'American Lung Association, Denver a reçu la note «F» pour avoir connu trop de jours d'ozone insalubres (au-delà de la norme fédérale pendant 3,2 jours). Respirer de l'ozone peut causer des troubles respiratoires, des douleurs thoraciques, de la toux et une inflammation des voies respiratoires. Cela peut être particulièrement troublant pour les personnes souffrant d'asthme ou d'autres maladies respiratoires, nécessitant parfois des soins médicaux.


Normalement, les niveaux de pollution à Denver sont plus élevés pendant les mois d'hiver que pendant les mois d'été en raison des inversions de température. Les inversions de température sont des événements météorologiques dans lesquels l'air froid et pollué près du sol ne peut pas s'échapper dans l'atmosphère et se disperser en raison d'une couche d'air plus chaud au-dessus, ce qui crée un effet de piégeage. En hiver, la lumière du soleil affaiblie et un sol gelé se combinent pour créer des inversions de température, qui durent parfois plusieurs jours à la fois.


En 2019, les mois les plus pollués de Denver pour la pollution aux PM2,5 ont été respectivement février (14,7 μg/m3), mars (11,8 μg/m3), novembre (11,2 μg/m3) et décembre (9,8 μg/m3). Bien que cette tendance reste vraie pour les années précédentes telles que 2018 et 2017, le mois le plus pollué de ces années était l'été en raison des incendies de forêt à proximité. Août a été le mois le plus pollué en 2018 (13,6 μg/m3), tandis que septembre a été le mois le plus pollué en 2017 (11,2 μg/m3).


Malgré les défis de Denver en matière de pollution atmosphérique, la ville n’est pas la plus polluée du Colorado. En 2019, Silverton était la ville la plus polluée du Colorado (touchée par les incendies de forêt en 2019), suivie de Greeley (une ville connue pour son industrie de conditionnement de la viande).


La pollution atmosphérique est dynamique et évolue avec les saisons, les conditions météorologiques et les événements de pollution. Suivez les données en direct sur la qualité de l'air de Denver en haut de cette page et sur l'application IQAir pour des lectures en temps réel. Les données prévisionnelles de Denver sur la qualité de l'air fournissent une ligne directrice pour planifier à l'avance pour réduire l'exposition à la pollution. Lorsque les niveaux de pollution sont estimés élevés, fermez vos fenêtres et vos portes, portez un masque antipollution et évitez les efforts physiques intenses.

La qualité de l'air s'améliore-t-elle à Denver?

Les niveaux de pollution de l'air à Denver se sont améliorés depuis les années 1980, lorsque la ville était réputée pour son «nuage brun» .3 Au cours des deux dernières décennies, les progrès ont considérablement ralenti, ne faisant que serpenter vers le progrès avec de nombreuses années hors tendance également.


Plus récemment, les niveaux de pollution PM2,5 ont augmenté, augmentant de 8,1% de 2017 à 2018 et de 2,5% de 2018 à 2019.


De même, les niveaux d'ozone ont connu de légères augmentations ces dernières années, les niveaux restant constants entre 2017 et 2018, mais augmentant à des niveaux non atteints en 2019.1


Alors que l'augmentation des transports publics, une plus grande part de véhicules électriques sur la route et de nouvelles réglementations sur l'industrie pétrolière et gazière présentent des opportunités pour réduire les niveaux de pollution atmosphérique à Denver, le réchauffement climatique devrait intensifier le problème. La chaleur accélère la formation d'ozone en offrant de plus longues périodes de conditions idéales. La hausse des températures peut également contribuer à la fréquence et à la gravité accrues des incendies de forêt qui ont historiquement donné lieu à certains des mois les plus pollués de Denver. Les incendies de forêt sont une source majeure de particules fines en suspension dans l'air (PM2,5) ainsi que de précurseurs de l'ozone et peuvent avoir des répercussions considérables sur la qualité de l'air.

Qu'est-ce qui cause le smog à Denver?

La qualité de l’air de Denver est principalement mise à mal par la pollution par l’ozone formée par les précurseurs de polluants émis par les véhicules à moteur (sources mobiles) et l’industrie pétrolière et gazière (sources fixes). Des études ont montré que ces deux sources jouent un rôle presque égal dans la pollution de l’air de Denver.


Les émissions des transports, ou mobiles, des camions, des trains, des avions et de tous les autres véhicules à moteur constituent le principal facteur de pollution atmosphérique à Denver. En avril 2020, la ville et le comté de Denver ont publié un nouveau plan d'action pour les véhicules électriques visant à encourager davantage la possession de véhicules électriques afin de porter leur part d'immatriculations de véhicules à 15% d'ici 2025 et 30% d'ici 2030.4 Projets en cours pour développer les transports publics et les pistes cyclables pour rendre ces offres plus attractives offrent des pistes supplémentaires pour réduire les sources d'émissions mobiles à l'avenir.


Les industries pétrolière et gazière sont fréquemment regroupées dans la catégorie des «sources fixes» de pollution, qui comprend en outre les émissions des centrales électriques, des installations industrielles et des usines. La raffinerie de pétrole Suncor Energy à Commerce City, à quelques kilomètres de Denver, est la deuxième plus grande source stationnaire de PM2,5 de l'État et la quatrième plus grande source de composés organiques volatils (un précurseur polluant dans la formation de l'ozone). contribuent de manière significative à la mauvaise qualité de l'air à Denver.5


De nouveaux forages pétroliers près de Denver, quant à eux, sont en hausse, avec de nouveaux projets de fracturation actuellement en cours dans les environs de Thornton, Commerce city et Aurora, et près de 1000 nouveaux projets en attente d'approbation.6 Ces projets pourraient aggraver encore la qualité de l'air de Denver, car ils sont connus pour émettre des quantités importantes de polluants précurseurs d'ozone et de PM2,5.


Les opérations à l'aéroport international de Denver (DIA) sont une autre source stationnaire de pollution atmosphérique à Denver. Les émissions ici sont principalement le résultat d'opérations au sol plutôt que d'avions. Selon les données de l'Agence de protection de l'environnement (EPA), la DIA est l'un des principaux contributeurs des polluants précurseurs de l'ozone de Denver, des composés organiques volatils et des oxydes d'azote.


Les incendies de forêt, bien qu’imprévisibles et temporaires, sont une autre source courante de pollution atmosphérique à Denver, contribuant fréquemment aux jours les plus pollués de Denver. Une combinaison d'air sec, de terres forestières abondantes, d'étés de plus en plus chauds et de montagnes escarpées se combinent pour rendre l'ouest du Colorado particulièrement vulnérable à ces graves épisodes de pollution.


Affichez des données en temps réel sur la carte AQI de Denver pour observer l'impact des sources d'émission et des régimes de vent sur les niveaux de qualité de l'air.


+ Ressources de l'article

[1] Finley B. (2020, January 30). Denver among top 10 worst U.S. cities for hazardous air pollution, 2 new studies say.
[2] American Lung Association. (2019). State of the air – 2019.
[3] Brooke J. (1998, April 21). Denver Seeing the Light Past Its 'Brown Cloud'.
[4] Denver Climate Action, Sustainability and Resiliency. (2020). Denver electric vehicle (EV) action plan.
[5] Woodruff C. (2019, May 29). What are Colorado’s biggest sources of air pollution?
[6] Woodruff C. (2019, March 11). Why Denver’s brown cloud Is back — and why it might get worse.

Cart
Your cart is empty

Se connecter avec IQAir

S’inscrire à notre lettre d’information

Air quality in Denver

Air quality index (AQI) and PM2.5 air pollution in Denver

LAST UPDATE (local time)

1.46M people follow this city

  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
  • The profile image of follower
IQAir map with AQI colorful pins

Air Quality contributors Sources

Data provided by

Contributors

4

Data sources

3

The profile logo of AirVisualThe profile logo of Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment (CDPHE)The profile logo of Environmental Protection AgencyThe profile logo of 8 Anonymous contributorThe profile logo of PurpleAirThe profile logo of Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment (CDPHE)

Get your own monitor to measure air quality by yourself and join the movement.

Become a contributor
Find out more about contributors and data sources

Weather

What is the current weather in Denver?

Weather icon
WeatherBroken clouds
Temperature41°C
Humidity46%
Wind2.9 mp/h
Pressure1013 mb

live aqi city ranking

Real-time USA city ranking

Tooltip icon
#cityUS AQI
1 Glenpool, Oklahoma

177

2 Nikiski, Alaska

162

3 Jenks, Oklahoma

161

4 Knoxville, Tennessee

156

5 Louisville, Tennessee

155

6 Tahlequah, Oklahoma

151

7 O'Fallon, Missouri

149

8 Clarendon, Vermont

135

9 Miami, Oklahoma

133

10 Slidell, Louisiana

128

(local time)

SEE WORLD AQI RANKING

live Denver aqi ranking

Real-time Denver air quality ranking

Tooltip icon
#stationUS AQI
1 Welby - 78th Ave. & Steele St.

95

2 Commons Park

28

3 La Casa NCORE - 4545 Navajo St.

21

4 Denver - CAMP - 2105 Broadway

17

5 Denver - NJH - 14th Ave. & Albion St.

17

6 Globeville

16

7 South Lafayette Street

15

8 Acoma Street

14

9 Quitman Street

14

10 Lowell Boulevard

12

(local time)

SEE WORLD AQI RANKING

Denver webcam

2:09, Mar 8

Is there air pollution in Denver?

Thumbnail of Denver webcam at 2:09, Mar 8

US AQI

16

live AQI index
Good

Human face indicating AQI level

Overview

What is the current air quality in Denver?

Air pollution levelAir quality indexMain pollutant
Good 16 US AQItrendo3
PollutantsConcentration
PM2.5
3.7 µg/m³trend
pm10
15 µg/m³trend
o3
40 µg/m³trend
no2
77.1 µg/m³trend
so2
2.6 µg/m³
co
286.3 µg/m³trend

Health Recommendations

How to protect from air pollution in Denver?

An open window iconOpen your windows to bring clean, fresh air indoors
A man cycling iconEnjoy outdoor activities

Forecast

Denver air quality index (AQI) forecast

DayPollution levelWeatherTemperatureWind
Thursday, Mar 4

Good 27 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Friday, Mar 5

Good 19 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Saturday, Mar 6

Good 23 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Sunday, Mar 7

Good 25 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon62.6°41°
Wind rotating 114 degree

2.2 mp/h

Today

Good 13 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon60.8°42.8°
Wind rotating 51 degree

4.5 mp/h

Tuesday, Mar 9

Good 17 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon51.8°37.4°
Wind rotating 229 degree

15.7 mp/h

Wednesday, Mar 10

Good 19 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon46.4°33.8°
Wind rotating 128 degree

6.7 mp/h

Thursday, Mar 11

Good 13 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon35.6°32°
Wind rotating 84 degree

13.4 mp/h

Friday, Mar 12

Good 5 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon32°28.4°
Wind rotating 8 degree

15.7 mp/h

Saturday, Mar 13

Good 8 US AQI

Human face indicating AQI level
Weather icon32°21.2°
Wind rotating 8 degree

11.2 mp/h

Interested in hourly forecast? Get the app

Historical

Historic air quality graph for Denver

How to best protect from air pollution?

Reduce your air pollution exposure in Denver

AIR QUALITY ANALYSIS AND STATISTICS FOR Denver

Is Denver, Colorado a polluted city?

In 2019, Denver averaged a yearly air quality index (AQI) score of 34, meeting the “good” AQI category. Denver air quality, however, fails to meet other attainment standards, such as thresholds for daily PM2.5 and ozone. It is Denver daily pollution swings, particularly in the winter months, that cause Denver to rank among the top 10 worst U.S. cities for hazardous air pollution by various independent studies.1


A federal tally revealed that Denver residents breathed air exceeding government standards for more than 260 days from 2018 to 2019. Air in excess of government standards can affect everyone, though it tends to disproportionately hurt sensitive groups, such as children, the elderly, and those with heart or lung disease. An estimated 338,217 Denver residents qualify as ‘sensitive’ to air pollution, comprising more than 40% of the city’s population.2


According to the State of the Air report, released annually by the American Lung Association, Denver was rated an ‘F’ for experiencing too many unhealthy ozone days (in excess of the federal standard for 3.2 days). Breathing ozone can cause breathing trouble, chest pain, coughing, and airway inflammation. It can be particularly troubling to those with asthma or other respiratory illnesses, at times requiring medical care.


Normally, pollution levels in Denver are higher in the winter months than in the summer months as a result of temperature inversions. Temperature inversions are weather events in which cold, polluted air near the ground is unable to escape into the atmosphere and disperse because of a layer of hotter air above, which creates a trapping effect. In the winter, weakened sunlight and a frozen ground combine to create temperature inversions, sometimes lasting days at a time.


In 2019, Denver’s most polluted months for PM2.5 pollution were February (14.7 μg/m3), March (11.8 μg/m3), November (11.2 μg/m3), and December (9.8 μg/m3), respectively. While this trend remains true for previous years such as 2018 and 2017, the single most polluted month for these years was in the summer because of from nearby wildfires. August was the most polluted month in 2018 (13.6 μg/m3), while September was the most polluted month in 2017 (11.2 μg/m3).


Despite Denver’s challenges with air pollution, the city is not the most polluted in Colorado. In 2019, Silverton was Colorado’s most polluted city (affected by wildfires in 2019), followed by Greeley (a city known for its meatpacking industry).


Air pollution is dynamic, changing with seasons, weather, and pollution events. Follow Denver live air quality data at the top of this page and on the IQAir app for real-time readings. Denver forecast air quality data provides a guideline for planning ahead to reduce pollution exposure. When pollution levels are estimated to be high, close your windows and doors, wear a pollution mask, and avoid heavy physical exertion.

Is air quality improving in Denver?

Air pollution levels in Denver have improved since the 1980s, when the city was reputed for its “brown cloud”.3 In the last two decades, progress has slowed significantly, only meandering towards progress with numerous off trend years as well.


Most recently, PM2.5 pollution levels have been on the rise, gaining 8.1% from 2017 to 2018, and another 2.5% from 2018 to 2019.


Ozone levels have similarly experienced slight increases in recent years, with levels remaining constant between 2017 and 2018 but increasing to non-attainment levels in 2019.1


While increased public transportation, a greater share of electric vehicles on the road, and further regulations on the oil and gas industry present opportunities for reducing air pollution levels in Denver, global warming is expected to intensify the problem. Heat speeds the formation of ozone by providing longer periods of ideal conditions. Rising temperatures may also contribute to the increased frequency and severity of wildfires which have historically given rise to some of Denver’s most polluted months. Wildfires are a major source of fine airborne particulate matter (PM2.5) as well as ozone precursors and can have far reaching implications on air quality.

What causes smog in Denver?


Denver’s air quality is primarily challenged by ozone pollution formed from precursor pollutants emitted by motor vehicles (mobile sources) and the oil and gas industry (stationary sources). Studies have shown that these two sources play a near equal role in polluting Denver’s air.


Transportation, or mobile, emissions from trucks, trains, planes, and all other motor vehicles comprise the largest single contributor to Denver’s air pollution. In April 2020, the city and county of Denver released a new electric vehicle action plan aiming to further incentive electric vehicles ownership in order to grow their share of vehicle registrations to 15% by 2025 and 30% by 2030.4 Ongoing projects to expand public transportation and bike lanes to make these offerings more attractive offer additional avenues for reducing mobile emission sources in the future.


The oil and gas industries are frequently grouped into the ‘stationary sources’ of pollution category, which additionally includes emissions from power plants, industrial facilities, and factories. The Suncor Energy Oil Refinery in Commerce City, just miles outside of Denver, is the state’s second-largest stationary source of PM2.5 and the fourth-largest source of volatile organic compounds (a precursor pollutant in the formation of ozone), thought to significantly contribute to Denver’s poor air quality.5


New oil drilling near Denver, meanwhile, is on the rise, with new fracking projects currently underway in nearby Thornton, Commerce city and Aurora, and nearly 1,000 new projects pending approval.6 These projects have the potential to further worsen to Denver’s air quality, as they are known to emit significant amounts of ozone and PM2.5 precursor pollutants.


Operations at the Denver International Airport (DIA) are another stationary source of Denver air pollution. Emissions here are primarily the result of ground operations rather than airplanes. According to data from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), DIA is one of the main contributors of Denver’s ozone precursor pollutants, volatile organic compounds, and nitrogen oxides.


Wildfires, though unpredictable and temporary, are another common source of air pollution in Denver, frequently contributing to Denver’s highest pollution days. A combination of dry air, abundant forest land, increasingly hot summers, and steep mountains combine to make Western Colorado particularly prone to these severe pollution events.


View real-time data on the Denver AQI map to observe the impact of emission sources and wind patterns on air quality levels.



+ Article Resources
[1] Finley B. (2020, January 30). Denver among top 10 worst U.S. cities for hazardous air pollution, 2 new studies say.
[2] American Lung Association. (2019). State of the air – 2019.
[3] Brooke J. (1998, April 21). Denver Seeing the Light Past Its 'Brown Cloud'.
[4] Denver Climate Action, Sustainability and Resiliency. (2020). Denver electric vehicle (EV) action plan.
[5] Woodruff C. (2019, May 29). What are Colorado’s biggest sources of air pollution?
[6] Woodruff C. (2019, March 11). Why Denver’s brown cloud Is back — and why it might get worse.

Connect With IQAir

Sign up for our newsletter